Savings vs. Investment Decision In an Unstable Economy

in LeoFinance9 months ago (edited)

Photo Designed in Canva

I once belonged to the school of thought which holds that in order for a person's finances to improve, there needs to be a plan for savings and investment. However, I can assure you that some find it challenging to achieve this especially in an unstable state of the economy. To me, I give investment more of an emphasis than savings.

In this post, I will discuss the idea of investing and savings. I will also state the reason why investment should be choosen in an unstable economy . Please note that this applies to when there is a need for financial improvement within a time frame.

The Idea of Investing and Saving

The final pieces of advice from the most financial seminars is to build wealth, and it can be built by investment. Because of this, I prioritize investing over saving at the initial phase of an unstable economy.

Savings are generally understood to be the sum of financial resources set apart for a specific purpose or simply for preserving. I grew up in a household where it was required to save a particular percentage of every paycheck, even if there was nothing to do with the money. Anyone who persists in saving does so for purposes that are best known to them.

Source

As opposed to investment, which is the time, effort, or resources you devote to a task in the hopes of reaping rewards.
The distinction between the two phrases is comparable to what would occur if an agriculturalist visited his farm. He spends his time to cultivate the ground, and puts down seedlings in a bed, each of which eventually produces a whole plant that has over one hundred seeds.

Source

There is no chance of a successful yield in the future if the agriculturist were to keep the seeds instead of putting them into the soil. Savings don't increase returns; investing does. This prompted me to select investments anytime there is a shift in economic structure. A shift in economic structure is concerned with changes within the nations economy likened to a state of a poor economy where hardship is prevalent.

I may be corrected that the yield from investment can be as well saved but if it’s a recent investment, saving the profit may likely not be at this point in time, it’s a time for reinvestment.

Having myself as case study, I gave investment my top most priority rather than savings and sometimes I have this feeling of guilt that I may have compromised my standard because when the economy was stable (before the hike in price of everything) I used to balance my savings with investment. On the other hand I have the conviction that as change is constant, so our activities will likely become subject to change itself.

My Earnings & Expenses

My income and expense breakdown for now is a given below:

Family - 30%

Food - 20%

Wears - 10%

Rent - 10%

Transport - 8%

Saving 7%

Investment 15%

I have no plans to change the family budget because it's crucial to watch after younger ones who are still in school. The argument for writing this piece of writing revolves around options e and f. Recently, when there was a rise in fuel prices, expenses for transportation went up, and I had to use funds to cover these costs while leaving investments untouched.

Every time, I have to ask myself if I'm acting appropriately as a woman.

The new expenses is given below after replacing savings

Family: 30%

Wears - 10%

Food - 20%

Rent - 10%

Transportation - 15%

Investment - 15%

The Positive Aspects of Investing over Saving

Here are some justifications for why I prefer investing than conserving;

Gaining Profits: This factor influenced my decision to choose investments over saves because even a small amount of earnings is more effective than no benefit from savings.

How I Assess an Investment and What I Think

The reason I've chosen to take this action is that investing can open up opportunities for extra funding, but it must be done under the supervision of a professional as not all investments bring in money.

I prefer professional advice because it will probably lessen the likelihood of mistakes.
I'm not attempting to discourage saving because it comes with its own financial rewards; the choice to use this method depends on how much your finances are influenced. I used savings to put money into my business. Although some people, including myself for the time being, ignore it, it plays a crucial part in wellbeing.

Conclusion
This content primary inquiry is whether it is proper or bad to pick investments over savings, particularly in a volatile economic climate.

The financial framework in place is what led me to pick investments over savings; nevertheless, "if" the financial worth of items returns to what it was before, I will implement a saving plan alternative as previously.

Thank you for reading, do have a profitable time.

Posted Using LeoFinance Alpha

Posted Using LeoFinance Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @ekanem726! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 100 replies.
Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - September 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the October edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2023

Thanks @hivebuzz

That's great @ekanem726! We're excited to see your commitment to Hive! Keep it up!

Thanks for that. I tried to support a request of yours but had trouble logging from hive to peakd.