My Formal Introduction to InLeo

in LeoFinance6 months ago (edited)


(Image by Pexels from Pixabay)

I joined this platform some days ago and this piece is my first full-length article. Naturally, it's an introductory article.

First and foremost, I am an introvert. I fall into that strange class of humans who are comfortable with being by themselves. But unlike most introverts, I actually do have a lot of friends and can be very extroverted if the occasion demands. I guess that should make me an ambivert but I prefer being left to my thoughts and musings most of the time and do actively avoid external social company, where possible.

Thoughts and musings are one of the reasons I developed a fondness for writing. Writing gives me an avenue to present to the world, the theories, observations and experiences I have analyzed in my mind. The medium of writing lets me express my thoughts without having to do much social interaction.

You may ask, what do I write about? I write about anything and everything that catches my fancy. Be it crypto, social issues, technical topics or even fiction.
To be honest though, I'm not a consistent writer but only write when I can make out time which means that sometimes interesting things that I've thought about never get written but remain locked up in my mind since I can't spare the time to put them into writing.

I got to know about Hive and InLeo via the ongoing Zealy campaign. So far, the platform and community has been nice but the on-boarding experience still needs a lot of work. At the very least, an easily accessible documentation, detailing the various concepts like voting, powers, resources and other features that makes this platform different from regular social media. (Oh, and the keys, why so many of them?). I had to search through Google to find a few user articles that gave explanations about Hive power and voting weights, etc. And fortunately, an InLeo user, @ibbtammy, also posted a link to a good article in her thread. View Thread.
I know with a little more patience and practice, I will finally get the hang of the various features. It's just a bit confusing for now.

Back to me, you will notice that I haven't mentioned any personal information such as occupation, nationality, etc. That is intentional, as I wish to maintain an anonymous profile (Satoshi-style) and hope that people focus on the content of my writing and not on my person.

Till the next article, I hope to enjoy this platform and the Hive ecosystem and hopefully leave a positive mark.

Thanks for reading.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Also not sure if you have had an issues posting due to low RC, I just delegated you 300 HP. Let me know if you have any problem with RC in the future

Thanks. Initially had the RC problem, although I didn't realize what it was at the time. Someone in discord helped out. It now makes me hesitant to post so that I don't use it all up.. 😅

with the delegation it should be no problem! That exists for two reasons, one is to prevent spam bots and also because projects that build on hive need RC to run their platforms so it creates a demand for hive. We still haven’t figured out a solution to the low RC when signing up but I believe second layer will solve this by auto delegating to verified users or users with invitation links, things like that. A little confusing? Don’t worry about it 😆 you are good!

It makes more sense now. Bots and spam are problems for any social media platform. Putting some type of control is necessary. The RC maybe confusing but I think it's better than twitter's method of random bans and suspensions.

I was anonymous for my first 3 years here. Eventually I decided to come out ;-P

It takes a little while to understand everything, but you can start enjoying this place without much of a deep understanding. Slowly you'll get curious about this and that and go down many rabbit holes and discover lots of cool communities and projects

It's an intriguing experience despite the hiccups. The willingness of the community to assist is also very encouraging.

Was scrolling through the articles and accidentally hit the upvote button on my article and there seems to be no undo button that I can find. Just thinking that an undo feature will be a nice addition. Better still, the upvote button should automatically be disabled for authors of a post.

Congratulations @emmy0x! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
Feedback from the December Hive Power Up Day