The Window for Patience

in LeoFinance2 months ago

stone-tower-4519290_640.jpg

The life I imagined for myself during the start of my 20s is very different from the life am currently living as I begin my 30s. It isn't entirely my doing, even though I definitely have a pivotal role to play in that regard. What astounds me though has been my willingness to adjust and make new plans based on the current realities on ground. It has both its advantages and disadvantages, the chief for the latter being that long term execution has not been sustained to see what sort of results turn out. I mean what might have happened if I'd followed through with my dreams from high school to be a doctor?

How long a window do you give for things to happen before calling it quits. I've come across varying answers in my lifetime. I think the shortest I've seen is two years while the longest an indefinite period of time. Of course we'd all like things to move a little quicker, and results to happen a little sooner than later. The real challenge is in maintaining effort during the passage of time. Self motivation is something very hard to sustain, especially at the level required for some of us to function. We definitely have a longer rope when it comes to things we want to happen as opposed to those that we're not really passionate about, but can recognize the potential for benefits.

Benefits. When people tell their story of patience, persistence and perseverance it is one that creates self doubt within me about my capacity and ability to withstand pain for an extended period of time. Something always seems to break the pattern. The biggest benefit that I've seen from prolonged waiting periods is the justification that comes from persisting. Knowing fully well that a lot of people quit in the process of what we might have achieved is a real ego boost, sometimes making us feel extra ordinary. I remember my first Marathon in 5hrs31min felt like I had set a World record, because not many people could boast of it. Yet if I had quit at any point through the race (as I felt), there'd be no story to tell of an accomplishment.

There's really no time frame to it, we just know that the window will never be closed as long as we keep making the effort.

Sort:  

I gave up on my dreams around late 28-34, it was a process, didn't happen overnight,but my nightmares slowly disappeared too... And I made more storeys to tell, because I didn't care what others think. 20 years after, I'm still alive and still wanna enjoy life more then ever.
My dreams would have killed me by now...

That's an interesting food for thought...the cost of actually realising our dreams I mean.

Am glad you're still living life with a sense of desire and optimism. Many dream chasers eventually realise the cost when it's too late.

I'll try and do both. If I can't am certainly going to opt for one without looking back on the other.

What were your dreams BTW...

Carry on doing great things.
Patience can someday set the foundation of a long time success if you hold onto it.
Well wishes ahead of time.