You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: After dedicating 5.5 years to Hive/Steem, I've been informed by KING ACIDYO that I added no value

in LeoFinance2 years ago

Where does it say you are entitled to rewards on any particular post?

:) The answer is: probably nowhere in this exact term, as far as I can tell.
But it's the suggestion which is out there, big time. As I said, you can say "it's nowhere said, so why would anyone assume it?" And my answer is "because, in various and colorful ways, its the underlaying message". Would you really say that this is not the case?

Sort:  

The marketing around rewards has never been great. I don't disagree with numerous wrong impressions being given. We should work to improve it, but communicating about a complex system to an audience who aren't experts on the technology isn't that easy either.

Agreed. Basically, advertising is never very accurate. It's over the top or it's meaningless. Advertising, by its nature, wants to draw attention to something and uses the simplest of means: emotional appeal.

My initial assertion that anyone who does not know this has not yet learned much in life stands by it :)

I don't believe that anything can be improved in advertising for this reason. It is what it is. It cannot tell the truth and it cannot convey complexity.
So I would agree with you that it is not easy and even add: it is impossible. I like to come to this realization. It has to be "talked through" for me.

It is what we do NOT say that an observant and life experienced mind nevertheless recognises.

People need to know for themselves what they take away from something they want to be a part of. To see oneself as a victim because one has been "misled" is therefore a less than honest argument, just as it is dishonest of marketers to suggest that there is some kind of equal opportunity for all. So insofar as we recognise that everyone is nevertheless hypocritical as well as carrying a share of knowledge with them, we can rest easy, can't we?

Where it gets tricky is when a trend is suspected that involves the overwhelming of currently politically unpopular views. There is undeniable evidence of this, which does not stop at online communication. What appears to be the stronger power out there is also expressed here. Where there is a powerful overhang in the experienced "outside reality", here in the online communication space there is a very sensitive reaction to any form of oppression or where this is perceived as such. I think we know the hottest issues.

My (unasked for - lol ) suggestion to you would be to perhaps make a surprisingly different decision from the ones you are known for? I don't know you, so I can't say whether you have this or that tendency for me.
I do that sometimes as to not make it easy to be identified to this or that camp.