Career Choice: A Matter of Circumstance or Personal Agency?

in LeoFinance2 months ago

The question of whether we choose our careers or if they choose us is an old age standing question. There have been a lot of answers regarding this question as people have shared their ideas and for today I will be sharing mine based on my perspective.

20240309_204724_0000.pngimage made on canva

There are a lot of factors that may contribute to the choice of career. Some people may be very fortunate to have a clearer view of what they want and go for it, while some external factors play a significant role in shaping their decision. These factors may be personal, socio-economic, or the country.

My country is Nigeria and the level of unemployment is very high. There is a scarcity of jobs and the few that are available are full of high competition, so when it comes to making the decision of a career one has to be very strategic instead of going for passion. Thinking of my future, I can't just ignore the fact that the reality in my country is totally different from what it is elsewhere, that employment opportunities are very scarce so I have to first of all study a course in the university that is very demanding in my country and other in other to gain relevance, yeah there are career path that has a more promising and greater job security and stability. In my country you can't go for passion unless your passion is highly demanding. If you want to rely on passion then you will either be poor or begging, you have to make what will pay you your passion. I went into the medical field because here in my country it is one of the highly demanding fields, you can get a job easily and if you don't get one, on the other side of the country you still stand a chance to get a well paid one Abroad.

However, while this external factor undoubtedly has played a role in shaping my career choice, I didn't just choose the medical field I did some good evaluation to best fit my interest and strength, I had to go for the weight, I considered the pros and cons of various options before making a final decision. Yeah I had to seek for my happiness and comfort as a way to help humanity, yeah cause everything is not all about money but also I had to consider happiness and helping humanity.

Ultimately, I chose a career that aligned with the condition of my country and one that best fit my happiness. This decision I will say has been influenced by an external factor because it wasn't my passion right from the beginning but while going into the field I made it my passion. My career choice was not imposed upon me by my parents or anyone rather, it was a conscious choice guided by careful consideration and self-awareness.

This is my entry for today's #marchinleo prompts, "Career: Current situation, Choices."

Stuck with writing a post? Don't worry, Try the­ #Marchinleo daily prompts. They may help on those­ idea-empty days. Check on @leo.tasks
to know more about the writing challenge

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

https://inleo.io/threads/etorobong/re-etorobong-9rtq53p8
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( etorobong ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

It' impressive how you've balanced the job market's demands with your own happiness in choosing a career. Wishing you success and fulfillment on your journey!❤️

Thanks so much dear for stopping by and for the kind words

Congratulations @etorobong! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Rebuilding HiveBuzz: The Challenges Towards Recovery