Recovery Account proposal for HIVE

in LeoFinance4 years ago

image.png

Recently the message has come up when logging into peakd that Steem is still my recovery account.

I had this for my main account, all the rest of my alt accounts have this account as a recovery account so there are no issues there.

image.png

A recovery account should be:

  • someone you personally know and trust to verify that your account was compromised and
  • they can validate that you want to "recover" the account and
  • they are unlikely to also be compromised at the same time.

To go through these 3 points.
1 This needs to be someone on hive and
2 Someone that knows how keys work and
3 not one of the accounts I set up

Then who is this... I have no idea. Who can we trust with this. I have not given this much thought before but I do not think I can trust Steem since the whole Tron thing. So the warning is a wise one

image.png

Is there a service on HIVE that actually recovers accounts?

Are there "super users" that validate accounts and are willing to do this? I know this is a hassle but in a way it is some sort of customer service.

My option would be:

  • Pay someone/a business to do this out of the Decentralized Hive Fund

They would be a kind of service that is paid by the community to serve in their best interest.

  • The chance that they run off with your money/account is smaller since they get a regular income through this.
  • It would be like a service that helps out users as a last resort and investigates if claims are real.

As this ecosystem grows bigger we will encounter more users that run into these issues. If they come through the @leofinance metamask or the @splinterlands options then the keys are even more of a mystery.
Does this seem like something valid?
What do you think?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

ok, so this is indeed what I was searching for. Might be good to put these links in that screen. I guess my post was then not relevant since we have this solution

I was about to say that @arcange has a service.

I've just set one of my own accounts as the recovery account, is that not a good idea then?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

just saw the @arcange solution... that was indeed what I was looking for but the info is not really obvious that this option is there.

We most definitely need a more obvious solution!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Although I'm fairly sure that because I've got my master password and owner key stored on two separate encrypted usb disks in two locations I'm pretty much OK for account recovery.

Worst case scenario is a plane ride back to the UK, but the point is to make it a pain in the ass, right?

Really I just wanted to remove Steem as my recovery account, which is why I changed it!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Oh and on the proposal idea, I think the critics might say that having one back up company creates a security week point, kind of defeats the object of decentralisation in a way>?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

NB - I may as well add a fourth - i frequently can't edit my comments on leofinance, hence the previous three comments, otherwise I would have put them into one!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Is there a service on HIVE that actually recovers accounts?

Yes! https://peakd.com/hive/@hive.recovery/userguide