You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Am I just seeing things?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Hello @cowboyphylosophy. This platform is overwhelming for new users and I can tell by experience. It's gets better each day if you show up. First of all you need to have a strong mindset of BUILDing things before you even start your journey here. All great things take time to build. Please consider this as a business and slowly build your brands. I would suggest you to start joining communities that interest you and start interacting with the people who are regularly creating content. You can ask a lot of questions in comments get your answers quickly rather than wondering about how to solve your problems.

I will give you a few pointers to get you started:

  1. Check this amazing guide made for newbies like us: https://thehiveguide.com/ It has video tutorials which are easy to grab and you can watch them while you are taking a dump or having your morning coffee. :D

  2. @leomarkettalk - Best place to interact with some of the coolest people on the platform. You can ask any question related to LEO & HIVE and I am sure many folks would love to help you.

  3. To understand the technical mumbo jumbo of the platform in byte sized format, check this: https://developers.hive.io/glossary/#glossary-chain-basics

Hope it helps! And while you do all that, make sure to have fun. That's more important good sir. I sincerely wish you get your way around the platform. I will say it again - It gets better. :))

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Thanks for the feedback and the tips will be very useful I'm sure.
From your comment I get the feeling that I sounded as if I am complaining about my own journey here and just want to assure that that was not my intent at all. I actually enjoy the challenge of figuring things out and have the luxury of some time and resources (minimal as they may be) to pursue the challenge.

My hope was to suggest that this could be a real problem for so many and that I think the community could possibly rally to develop a project that would make the process easier for those with less to actually get up and running. Limited access to the internet and computers is a real issue in developing nation.

I'm really stoked about the upcoming advancements Elon Musk is making possible with his global internet access project. My guess is that someone like yourself or even me could be the first link in a 'six degrees of separation' that could connect with Elon and perhaps initiate a project to escalate access across the globe. That would be huge for recruitment/retention to Hive and all it has to offer.

I see a whole world of potential here and am excited to be privileged to participate. My thanks again.

Blessed Be.

Yeeeaahhhh, I'm not quite as excited about Elon Musk's Starlink as I originally was. When I first started reading about it, the articles stated the cost would cost about $7 per month. I signed up to be one of their beta testers when it came available in my area. I recently received an email that it should be available to me in June or July. But the cost is $99 per month plus $500 for the satellite dish. If I had Hughesnet it would definitely be worth that. But my current Rise Broadband connection is adequate, costs less per month and didn't require that I buy the dish.

Thank you for the links, Finguru. Will definitely take a look at those!