You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HIVE Dollar Interest Distributions Begin on the Hive Blockchain

in LeoFinance3 years ago

If the first distribution of interest rates have occurred does it mean it has started (accruing) 30 days ago?

Also, does it distribute daily? (Even if you can claim only once per month)

Sort:  

"If the first distribution of interest rates have occurred does it mean it has started (accruing) 30 days ago?"

As far as I know, it should start accruing when the interest rate began at the new percentage. But don't quote me on that.

"Also, does it distribute daily?"

Again, as far as I know, it distributes monthly. But even if it distributed daily, it wouldn't make a difference because the balance wouldn't be adjusted, so there's no compounding taking place.

[EDIT] - To clarify...

The interest doesn't "distribute" daily or monthly. It just accumulates continuously and can be effectively claimed no more than once every 30 days. So the only compounding that can take place is monthly.

Yes... I should have thought more about the word "distribution" even when I tried to explain what it meant in my words.

But thanks for your extra detail. Let's wait and see more (don't have the patience now to go look to the script). Being monthly accrual will be a start for this to keep going again... Daily would be more interesting, but hey hey, we have to start somewhere.

This is going to complicate some finances... for some countries. I just wanna test it, but to be honest I don't wish to "use" it... I have too many other places where I would prefer to have the crypto in, but some others might wish to use it as an investment without worries.

This will also put back some pressure on external markets desiring to hold the token.

Eager to see how this will work out again.