You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Lucrative is Blockchain Storage?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Unfortunately time is not unlimited to know about all solutions. But thanks, I surely look 👀 into that.

As I mentioned you can’t use the 10$ /2TB/month rule... as it highly depends on uploads. But I would say that you need at least 2TB per physical disk to break costs even when your upload is zero. Then whatever you put on top, uploads or more storage capacity, will be almost all profit.

This all assumes you are almost 24/7 connected of course. With some room for maintenance of course.

Later I will paste a break down from the node that will help understand more.

Sort:  

That would be great, I’m really on the edge to buy a “server” and do some mining and/or decentralised stuff. I feel like every push is welcome :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You don't need a server to do this... STORJ can even run on your router via docker or via raspberry pi...

Values change depending on how much your node upload does between what becomes data to repair other nodes data or real data being uploaded via gateways to clients.

You can also run a gateway, but at that point, you are already aiming to run your own storage service to rent to others via your gateway. Gateways are more power-hungry... as they serve requests from the clients... and I think they are not yet decentralized.

Raspberry pi... I think you finished to motivate me for real. I’m diving in this and read more info.
Thanks a lot for your time !

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

😂 Have fun! Any questions feel free to ping me.

There is tons of info for Raspberry... even for the new v4...

But here is one for the most used one:
https://support.storj.io/hc/en-us/articles/360026612332-Install-storagenode-on-Raspberry-Pi3