Costly Mistake Using the "inleo" Tag

in LeoFinance6 months ago

When was Leofinance rebranded as INLEO? Was it October 1st? I could check, but I won't bother.

Around the time of the rebranding - probably a little after that - I listened to Khal on the weekly AMA recording, as I do every time. He answered a question from the audience regarding the tags that should be used going forward after the rebranding, for the Leofinance tribe, to take part in the reward pool mechanism for LEO.

He mentioned "leofinance" and "leo" would remain as before, since the community remains named "leofinance", and that another tag was added: "inleo". Or at least that's how I remember him saying it.

One thing I learned was that the "leo" tag also works for rewards distribution. I didn't know that. Before that, I thought only the "leofinance" tag had this role.

It's tested, and both "leo" and "leofinance" work, as I have used them alternatively lately, and they both produce LEO rewards (for example, I use the "leo" tag instead of "leofinance" where I refer to $LEO inside the post, like in my weekly Hive goals posts).

The other thing I have done since I heard Khal in that AMA was to use the "inleo" tag INSTEAD of "leofinance" in quite a number of posts since then. You'll see with what results.

But I haven't been paying attention to my LEO author rewards since then. At one point, I noticed my LEO rewards for a post were zero despite the fact I had enough votes, and that was really curious. I checked and saw I used what I thought was a valid tag, and moved on, thinking maybe it was a glitch or something.

This or last week I saw it again...

No LEO rewards... And this time I went on a deeper investigation. I checked multiple posts and saw some of them had zero LEO rewards despite my thinking they should have been rewarded.

So, I checked what they had in common compared to the other ones where I received LEO rewards. And that was the "inleo" tag instead of "leo" or "leofinance".

That means this tag doesn't work for the reward pool. Maybe it was an idea but it never got added, but the reality is it currently doesn't work (and hasn't in the past either, from my investigation).

Note: On Threads, things are different since all threads that are voted with LEO stake receive LEO rewards because the container post has the "leofinance" tag.

I don't know if anyone else made my mistake and furthermore, didn't bother to check after using the new tag. Big mistake to not check after changing the tag on some of my posts! One and a half months of not checking on this is pretty long... Particularly since I have a LEO staking goal...

There's nothing I can do about the past, so dwelling on this mistake doesn't help. But I can make sure not to make this one in the future. And hopefully, you won't do it either. Although, maybe you were smarter than I was and used the default tag, which is "leofinance".

One of my reasons for changing the tag name on some of my posts was to maybe help a bit with the SEO since tags are also links, and having the "inleo" tag link instead of "leofinance" would have helped the rebranding, maybe.


Want to check out my collection of posts?

It's a good way to pick what interests you.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Oh it is good that you were able to catch that, although a bit late. That is a bit interesting, since I assume they would want people to use it more. I agree that they might have forgotten/overlooked it. To be safe, it might be better to use all Leo related tags in your posts, in case they change it sometime soon.

To be safe, it might be better to use all Leo related tags in your posts, in case they change it sometime soon.

Nah, I think just using the default 'leofinance' is good enough. But, for now, I see 'leo' works as well.

I usually use the leofinance tag on my non leofinance post. With my leofinance posts, I often only leave it to the default community tag. But I see that it can be good for SEO to add more relevant tags. I think with evergreen rewards, you could earn some of those 'leo' tag rewards back

Yes, the default tag which is 'leofinance' is the best option.

I think with evergreen rewards, you could earn some of those 'leo' tag rewards back

I haven't thought about it, but you are right. If I'll have more than the minimum limit of views on those posts, since they are posted from INLEO, they will be eligible for evergreen rewards.

Ah, that sucks to hear. I have been sticking with the usual leofinance tag because it's there by default. So I never noticed.

Yep, it sucked to see it too. But it was my own fault for not checking for so long.

waoh, you have done noble in exposing this truth, I have been using it all along without noticing. The information is worth a million dollars

I'm glad this is helpful to you too.

so, we should stop using inleo tag?

Yes. Use "leofinance" or "leo" instead. Or you can use it, as long as you use one of the the others too.

Nice catch! Didn't know this.

Unfortunately, I didn't realize it until recently either.

Thank you that paid attention to this situation! Honestly I use leo leo finance or inleo tags not so often as it could be. But this point with inleo tag anyway worth of attention. And in my future posts I'll keep it in my mind!

I'm glad it is helpful to others as well. Using the 'leo' tag was smart. Thanks for your comment!

Thanks for the update. That's helpful to know. I've only used the leofinance tag until now.

I've only used the leofinance tag until now.

That's very good. I ignored one of the basic rules I know from pretty much everything, including programming: when you change something, make sure it works!

That means one should stick with the leofianance tag

Yep, that's the safest option.

Definitely

Thank you @gadrian for sharing your post on the Leo tags confusion. This is indeed confusing. So leo would work too as well as leofinance? Does it matter whether you use upper case or lower case letters? I'm sorry you lost $LEO because of this. I'm sure you were not the only one that did this. Have a nice weekend! Barb 🌟 👍😊 !BBH !CTP #ctp

Yes, you can use both 'leo' and 'leofinance'. You can try to use uppercase, but all interfaces will change them to lowercase because that's why Hive accepts.

OK @gadrian thank you for letting me know upper case on lower case tags! !BBH !CTP

@gadrian! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @adcreatordesign. (1/1)

A great helping hand for me thanks for that

THis is important information

Of course tags are very important and we have to understand their importance otherwise we can face a huge loss. You have told us all very special things.