Don’t Fall For It: How During Withdrawal I Lost 429.771 Hive To A Binance Impostor On The Hive Blockchain

in LeoFinance3 years ago

A few days ago, I needed to make the withdrawal of 429.771 Hive to my Binance account. I prefer to use Binance for my Hive withdrawals for three major reasons. First, withdrawals are usually fast. Second, it is easy for me to convert it to my local currency via Binance. Lastly, I could easily convert it to any other crypto of my choice on the Binance exchange.

Although I am not new to making Hive withdrawals to Binance, I got distracted on the day the stated transaction took place. A Hive newbie had come around and I was trying to show him how to make Hive withdrawals to Binance. Unfortunately, I got distracted and sent the Hive to an account which, I believe, is a Binance impostor.
images 63.jpeg
Forbes.com

Instead of sending my transaction to @deepcrypto8, which is the official deposit address for Hive on Binance, I wrongly sent it to @deepcypto8. It appears that the Hive is now lost because the said account is inactive. During a brief investigation, I found that another Binance impostor exists with the username deepcypto8 and, looking at the transaction history, quite a number of people appeared to have fallen prey to the latter impostor.
20210207_152554.jpg
While I take full responsibility for my own negligence, it is a concern that these Binance impostors exist on the Hive blockchain, creating a trap into which unsuspecting investors might fall. To the reader, it is important that you copy and paste the deposit address of whatever exchange into which you intend to withdraw your Hive. This is the only way to safeguard your fund and protect yourself from these ravaging impostors.

Stay happy and safe. Thanks for your time.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Sorry about that bro. I know a friend who also lost some to @deepcrypto, and quite a bunch of others as well, just like that. Even I made a mistake one time and sent to a wrong address, crazy.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks bro. We've just got to me more careful going forward. Cheers!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sad. Why don't you simply copy the address from your Binance wallet to be sure you're sending the funds where you're supposed to.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's what I do usually, unfortunately I got distracted on the particular day. Thanks for reminding me and for stopping by. Cheers!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta