You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Getting Historical Price Data for Stocks & Crypto Using Yfinance and Finnhub

in LeoFinance4 years ago

For what I am doing right now, daily data is good enough. Due to its simplicity I am primarily using yfinance. But finnhub seems to be more powerful. There is so much more data they provide beyond just prices like company history, finances, etc. I didn't get to experiment with that yet. But once I finish current projects I do intend to play with finnhub more.

Since Finnhub provides paid services too, I think they will be around for a long time and keep improving their services. So for more complex projects and reliable data Finnhub would be a better choice.

Some of my scripts evaluate thousands of stocks, that's why using yfinance is better. There is not api call limit. With finnhub there is 60 api calls limit per minute. So the code will have to evaluate 50-60 stocks at a time not to exceed the call limits. To evaluate thousands stocks the code would have to run for 20 minutes. With yfinance all can be done much faster.

Posted Using LeoFinance

Sort:  

Yeah in the long run it seems finnhub will be the better choices that's if they keep adding cool features and improving a whole lot. Well a for now you're still stuck using yfinance till your project is over. Hmmm I get it now, thanks for explaining that further.