You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LeoThread 2024-05-03 09:27

in LeoFinance • 2 months ago

1/🧵 I don’t participate often in the #inleo initiatives, since I don’t want to publish some generic crap on a topic I don’t relate to. Yet today, I had something to say, and I wrote something worth reading I believe.

#threadstorm #outreach #mayinleo

Sort:  

2/🧵 As mass media handed the power to the people, who can easily become bloggers, freelance journalist, influencers, streamers, and so, the dream of many social scientists came true. Or did it?

3/🧵 It seems that the role of (mass) media still persists, since we have troubles to discuss fallacy-free and apply critical approach to what we se and read online. Some people take advantage of that, some other spread nonsense. People tend to distrust authorities.

4/🧵 I am far from blaming the internet for that. It would be a cheap shot. The trend has likely always been around, and modern technologies simply help to streamline it, providing visibility and an audience to people spreading it.

5/🧵 Each of us can fight back by promoting so-called media literacy and fallacy-free discussions. And that’s the purpose of my post. Here it is: https://inleo.io/@godfish/from-mass-media-to-the-internet