You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: True cost

Reminds me of a thought I had a few weeks ago; jotted it down somewhere. A kernel of an article... something to expand on one day. The idea being that there's two basic forms of cynicism. Two poles, I suppose. Constructive and destructive. The first is closer to realism while the latter is more unrealistic and self-defeating, shutting down human potential whenever it's expressed. A connection to Viktor Frankl's Will to Meaning and how every individual is an unfolding expression of the whole and therefore we all effect each other integrally, with every action.

Pretty fragmentary, but with time and effort it'll coalesce into something worth reading

That comic highlights the wider effect of a kind of leadership. Consumer product companies leading consumers into buying more products through marketing. But a narrower definition of leadership, one I prefer, would exclude that kind of broadly negative action.

Though, in reality, these corporations are winning the game we're all expected to play: the game of earning the most money... consequences be damned

I'll keep an eye out for your piece Thursday!

Sort:  

Consumer product companies leading consumers into buying more products through marketing.

There might be a think like a leader week dedicated to this coming up.

Society is a strange place these days. I wonder if it was ever not strange though? I guess the difference is that people have so much choice these days, so much pressure, when back not that long ago, the pressure to survive the winter was the main thing. Society, for me at least, seems upside down and I'll be honest and say I don't like it.

Strange indeed! Best of luck to us all

May decency, freedom and human brotherhood prevail...

Well said, I agree.