You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Profit or Potato?

in LeoFinance2 years ago

One of my favourite meals is baked potatoes in hot coals. Can't do it this time of year in SA due to fire ban, but in the winter months... Oooh boy!

  1. Light and feed bonfire for a few hours
  2. When you've got a nice pile of glowing red coals, part them with a shovel to expose the ground underneath
  3. Chuck in foil-wrapped spuds
  4. Cover back over with the red hot goals
  5. Leave to cook for an hour
  6. Don't add any more wood to fire during this time
  7. Remove from coals, unwrap, add toppings
  8. Profit

While baked spuds are good no matter how they're done, this method adds a beautiful flavour. And you get the convivial campfire setting too. Great for having friends around.

Now what's all this about investing...? 😛

Sort:  

One of my favourite meals is baked potatoes in hot coals.

These are great! It has been many, many years since I have had them...

At some point, when we get the garden going, I would like a decent firepit to do some open-fire cooking. One of my favorite breads is damper - but I am Australian ;D

Can't do it this time of year in SA due to fire ban, but in the winter months..

Sometimes I get the sense that SA has no rules, so this is surprising :D

Oh yes, damper! So good done the traditional way as well.

Yeah nah, lots of rules in South Australia. Can't argue with fire ban in the driest months though, personally. Too easy to accidentally burn down your yard, your house, your town, your whole regional area... :/ lol

Oh, you are South Australia - I was thinking South Africa! :D

Haha! Yes. You know, I kind of had an inkling that's what you might have been thinking. Not very lawless down here. Well sometimes, on a full moon...