Time Out Sheriff!

in LeoFinance2 months ago

Back in my Costa Rica days I had an American sports bar with really good food.

I had people come in from all over the greater San Jose area just to try our burgers.

Well up rolls this little blinged out blue Toyota, the low riding whale custom paint job type.

Out comes two tatted up Ticos. One of them was Alex, who had been in before but I didn't really know him. A young guy, mid twenties who spoke English like a gringo.

My guess he was either working for a sports book office or just a deporty. We had lot's of both that came into our place. All walks of life from US embassy employees, guys from the Marine's barracks, locals, but rarely a tourist.

Sheriff Dave was in at the time Alex rolled in, Dave is a retired Sheriff's officer from California, and he spotted the gang banging looking duo and was over like a flash.

Crazy right?

We're in Costa Rica, he had zero authority.

Dave started questioning them and dressing them down like we were on the streets of LA. Keep in mind Dave was sober and had many years of not drinking under his belt.

This riot act went on for a few minutes before I had to step in and call of the Sheriff.

I seriously thought he was joking at first.

I had to apologize to the boys and Dave paid his bill and left.

Not after telling me about how he had to deal with this unscrupulous type all the time in Cali and how it was important to take control with this type.

I really think part of Dave's issue was PTSD, cause he really is a nice guy but damn what an annoyance that day was for me.

Just a point to show how so many of our officers are trained to believe the public are the enemy.

These guys were gentlemanly and soft spoken, I wish all my customers were like these guys.

Alex's next visit in things were a little bit more normal and over the next couple of years I got to know him and his story.

Another deporty but he was adopted as a baby from Costa Rica and really had very little connection with the country or the Ticos in general.

He was respectable with me and I to him in return.

He even brought people across the valley to come in with a few of them becoming semi regulars.

Alex traveled about 30 to 45 minutes across the valley from Heredia. Like I said, we had really good burgers with imported Angus beef from the USA with artisan buns and home made double fried french fries.

Truly an American experience in the middle of Costa Rica, hence we got very, very few tourists.

Yet all good things must end and after six years and a divorce we closed up and moved to Nicaragua to open another place and that is another story or two.

If you liked the story and want to read about a few more adventures just let me know in the comments.

Pura Vida!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha