You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Web 3.0: Combating The Disruption Of Labor

in LeoFinancelast month

I personally believe humanoid robots are idiotic. Why make robots look like humans? It must be arrogance or hubris IMHO. As a mechanic I can't tell you the number of times I wished I had an extra arm or two. So why not build robot that have extra arms? Or that can lift a car up without a jack? How many times have you whished you had an extra tool in your tool belt, a properly designed robot would be equipped with all the necessary tool at all times?

I worked as a steel erector for quite a few years and I can tell you a steel erecting robot will not look remotely like a human. It would have bins for bolts, numerous arms capable of equipping different tools (alignment pins, sockets, wrenches, clamps, etc...), it would be able to climb vertical columns with ease, it would be able to remotely operate the crane, it would be able to weld, the list goes on but I can tell you for damn sure it would not need to look anything like a human, hell it would not even need a head, you could put eyes all around it so it can see everything all at once.

Sorry for the rant but the whole concept of humanoid robots is just so inefficient and it bothers me. I think we should be look at this differently - purpose build multitasking robots? What do you think?