My Bitcoin Confession

in LeoFinance4 years ago (edited)


Source

I have a confession to make about bitcoin

Much to the chagrin of my parents, I decided 12 days ago that I would give up my online marketing studies and switch instead to becoming a full time crypto content creator. I did this knowing full well that I had little to no chance of covering my living costs within the near future. I appreciate every tip I get on this platform but the 1-2 bucks worth of crypto I get per post barely covers the cost of the toilet paper I use to wipe my ass with.  

That's not to debase Hive or any of the other online content blockchains. My activity on Publish0x, Hive and Leofinance over the past 12 days speak louder than words. I am infatuated with the concept of decentralization, independence and censorship resistance so I'm wildly grateful for the developers who are enabling people to live by these principles. But this post is not about that. It's about bitcoin.

I'll be honest, I trust my bank

Unlike Andreas Antonopoulus (if you don't know him, please stop reading this and watch this instead), I've never been in a situation which had me questioning the authority of my bank. That's partly due to me being raised in Luxembourg, a super rich country which has more banks per square kilometre than any other country in the world. Banks are everywhere and they are trusted. I've never had any issue whatsoever with them. Not only that, but they even issued me a credit card despite me not having a regular source of income (by having my father as a trustee). The competition for banking there is fierce and Luxembourg is one of the safest places in the world to keep your money. I trust my bank.

So, what use do I have for bitcoin? 

Well, this leads to my confession. I don't get paid in bitcoin, I don't use it for transacting, hell, I don't even own any right now. As much as it hurts to say it, my principal use for bitcoin is selling it at a higher price than I bought it for in order to turn a profit. It's all about me and the money I can make from it. It's self-centred, calculated and cold. If we're being totally truthful, that's the main reason for more than 99% of all fiat to bitcoin transactions. 

Despite the human condition of thinking the world revolves around me, I am graced with the knowledge of two important truths. One is that there are 7.594 billion other people in the world and the other is the understanding of cause and effect. Combining my understanding of these two ideas leads leads to the reason why I'm choosing the tumultuous crypto content creator path over the safer, parent-pleasing get-a-job path. 

But, more of that in part 2.

 --- 

Alright guys, that's it from me. Let me know what your thoughts are. What did you like/dislike about this content? I'm continually seeking to hone my craft, all feedback is valued! I'm not here just to post my content, I want to interact with the community too, so please, comment! 

--- 

Want to connect? Follow me on Publish0x, on Twitter, on Hive and on Youtube!

Want to start trading? Use this link to get a 10% discount trading on Binance!

New to Publish0x? Register today and start earning free crypto for reading and writing!


Disclaimer: Note that this article contains referral links and I may earn a small commission for my effort in spreading the word about crypto if you click on them. This is not financial advice. Trading presents financial risks. I cannot take responsibility for losses you might incur.

---    

Check out some of my recent posts:

- Why I'm Selling All my Bitcoin  (thanks for the massive upvote @dustindivitto!)

- Is Now a Good Time to Buy HIVE? | Price Analysis

- Massive 800% Increase in Bitcoin Transaction Fees - But Why?

- OG Crypto Veterans Talk Crypto | Then VS Now

- Commentary on Funny Crypto Memes

Posted Using LeoFinance

Sort:  

I gave up the get-a-job path decades ago.. #bestdecisionever

Nice one! What do you do for money? I bet your parents were thrilled about it, just like mine! 🤣

I hustle. I work during hail season setting appointments.. never more than 4 hours a day

Congratulations @hooked2thechain! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!