You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anyone familiar with this portrait?

in LeoFinance2 years ago

This rang a bell with me, and I remember seeing pictures of a woman who represented the french republic. Having looked it up on wikipedia, it could be right - Marianne, who is the 'national personification of the french replublic':
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marianne
!ALIVE

Sort:  

@trumpman! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hoosie. (10/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Woah, looks like you are right. I thought it was a guy, turns out it's a she 😂 Thanks friend

No problem - I did wonder when I saw it. I seem to recall seeing a painting in one of the museums in Paris, quite a long time ago - and it was of the personification of the French Republic - a woman dressed in a long robe and adorned with the French colours - with a shield, and I'm sure the crown of laurels. I've no idea how I remembered that !