You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Saturday Savers Club with @sally-saver | Week 6 - Saturday 11 February 2023 | Win EDS for Comments!

in LeoFinancelast year

Hi All, I had quite a good week, +90HP to 3991 HP - nearly breaking the 4K mark, plus some nice trades. Full report here:
https://leofinance.io/@hoosie/saturday-savers-club-progress-week-6-2023-11-02-23-hp-gains-getting-back-on-track

For the competition I have actually been thinking about two ideas around helping community members:
1 - Is about helping new members of SCC who are also new to have and have low RC/HP. Maybe a few of our members could offer some HP delegations for a month at a time to give newer members in those positions a helping hand. I'd be happy to offer one up.
2 - Hive common good fund. Maybe a fund could be setup on an account, with say a board to help manage it. It could take delegations and donations to help build it up. It would be invested so that it grows. When a needy cause comes along, applications could be made for help and or the board could decide to make a donation to a good cause. But the core idea would be that the fund continues to grow, so that it has the ability to help even more with greater donations over time.

Oh, and I dont know if you noticed the comment I put up on last weeks SSC post last night, but we had around 20 links to savings posts shared last week which is pretty impressive. I certainly try my best to read, upvote, comment and tip them all - plus its a great opportunity to learn from each other. Its great to see the comments/links growing - and I think its beneficial to us all as a peer group - so please keep on sharing links and commenting !!!
And last but not least, a reminder that we have LPUD coming up on wed the 15th - and best of luck to all for the coming week - keep on stacking !!! Cheers @hoosie

Sort:  

Some great ideas there 😍

Have you seen the Dollar a Day account? It was very active for a while, but the founder is not active on Hive, I believe.

Hi, I hadnt heard of that. Just had a look, and the last post from it was back in 2019 - and it does not have much value left in it.

It doesn't now. What do you think of the model?

I just read a few more of their posts, and I would say, thats just the thing - they seemed t have it pretty sorted out - its just a shame that it didnt continue. I wonder if its was just one person running it - which would be a lot of work, hence the option of having a board could give something like this more longevity. Even then, I dont doubt how much work would be involved, including keeping very close control and accounting of funds in order to provide transparency and accountability. It wouldnt be easy.

It was run by one person, there was some sort of split when Hive forked from Steem. I'm not sure what happened.

One of the benefits of blockchain is that everything is transparent: you can see all the transactions, who has received what etc.

As I remember, it was fairly straightforward: donors and delegators signed up and regular payments went to selected "good works". There was some work around researching and choosing who or what to support, and some discussions among the delegators. But otherwise, it was fairly straightforward. I think there were about eight groups receiving funds.

I like your second point!
!invest_vote

@stdd denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@stdd thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !