Sort:  

I am unsure also.

What I do know is that traditionally Town Halls occur in the Town the community is located in and not 'the town next door' so to speak.

Haha, yeah. That makes sense. Ironically, the town halls are happening on X, not here :)

Just to clarify my sentiment on a verifiable record... I mean anyone can impersonate anyone saying anything on those Web2 platforms.

That's true too and your sentiment is warranted considering AI can also be used to do that.

Oh yeah I did not even consider the AI factor! Whoa!

Maybe while the Web2 Town Halls are occurring those who are speaking could be encouraged to post to the chain to verify that it is in fact them speaking. Or something along those lines.

Yeah. Initially I was okay with that because I understand the rationale behind it.

Now though, I am heavily leaning towards them being held on chain so we can all see who says what and like I said have it be 'verifiable'.

Yes, I see your point :) Let's hope Sting Chat will have more features so there will be no more reasons for things to be done off chain.

This needs to be brought up at the next town hall maybe... that it should be on-chain

My mind is blown ...

It's on X?

Wow...