Splinterlands Card Market Update

in LeoFinancelast year

DAO9.jpg

About 12 days ago I did some buying in the card market. Bought quite a bit of alpha, beta, and common gold reward cards.

I wrote a post about it because for the better part of the past 15 months, every time I've bought the floor on these cards, the floor fills in and drops further within a few hours.

But when I bought up the floors 12 days ago, that didn't happen. In fact, a few of them seemed to attract a little fomo buying. I haven't seen that happen since the summer/fall 2021. Granted, this was on a much smaller scale.

I had a few minutes to look at the market today and I was pleasantly surprised with what I saw out there so I figured I'd do a quick update.

ALPHA common cards which hit a low of 45 cents months back were pushed back to a dollar by me before my last post and then jumped to $1.10 without me. Let's look at where the floor is now.

Screen Shot 20230303 at 4.29.33 PM.png
It's mostly held. Animated corpses have 4 copies on the market for less than $1.04. Other than that, the rest have moved above what was a pretty thick 1.10 floor for many of these. I'd say that's a win for the market.

Here's the one from 12 days ago.
2dk2RRM2dZ8gPSQXD26P2As77kSkptG6psTeS3tvcXytM9hw7jCPnWuNWX14r1kaeUfAvJ6dHg8asDeMrj3VrTx9UK4g58oJbxfdWVK1MgPYeozN4mAVJTtqfboUVWntor9CKB19zUJk5Ku59pK9GzvLNQDaLFYdudbWQSZieJ.png

Looking at BETA commons, they haven't fared quite as well. BETA was back up to a .30 cent floor. It look's like a couple sellers have come in and dropped that floor back down to .23 cents. I bought a lot on the way down and need to take a break otherwise I'd be on these core beta cards under .30 cents.

Screen Shot 20230303 at 4.39.05 PM.png

I will say that the beta common gold card floor is starting to thin out for the first time in a while.

I remember when I thought I was getting a good deal buying the last of the gold betas for $50 back in November 2021. Now they're $8. ugh. Oh well, I probably bought them with DEC that was worth 10x more than it is now.

It would take about $600 right now to buy the 1 bcx beta gold foils up to a $15 floor. That's not a lot for a double. Oops, I accidentally just bought up everything under $9 lol.

Screen Shot 20230303 at 4.54.11 PM.png

Another one we looked at on the last update was common gold cards. Last time I posts I bought the floor up to .25

Screen Shot 20230303 at 4.57.00 PM.png

Today there are just two left at .30 and then the floor jumps to .34 cents! That's a really big move. These were .18 about a month ago.

Here's what it looked like on my last update. Big difference.

Screen Shot 20230303 at 4.57.00 PM.png

There's one more that I didn't look at last time but that I recently realized was really moving. That's the reward epic cards which have now jumped to almost .20 cents. Those were .06 cents for a while. I really thought I bought more of these when they were cheaper but I guess it just seemed like a lot when it felt like throwing money in a fire haha.

Screen Shot 20230303 at 5.35.52 PM.png

Oh! And as I write this there are no longer any legendary cards below $1! Who knows if that will hold but someone just scooped them all while I was writing this.

Screen Shot 20230303 at 5.35.33 PM.png

Right now, I don't think a lot of this is new money coming in. The card market cap isn't really moving. I think people are just shuffling around value. As long as that's happening its not major news BUT, it does mean people are paying attention to market movements again and that can lead to a bit of fomo buying.

For most of 2022 whenever I looked at the sales that were happening, almost all of them were for pennies. You'd almost never see one that was over $1 and it was very rare to see anything more than $5.

Today it looks like this:

Screen Shot 20230303 at 3.59.36 PM.png

That is a much different looking market than 2022 and its not really slowing down. In fact, its picking up. Just look at this 6 month chart of U.S. Dollar volume (ignore the red line). Things shifted in mid December and the momentum is now building.

Screen Shot 20230303 at 4.01.49 PM.png

What do you all think? Is the giant waking up? My card values certainly are moving up finally.

Screen Shot 20230303 at 5.47.54 PM.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

This post has been given a 10.0% UpVote by the SplinterBoost Community Curation Bot.
image.png
Vote For Witness | Delegate HP | Join Discord

Congratulations @imno! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 5500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 5750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the February PUM Winners
Feedback from the March Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - February 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Congratulations @imno! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - March 15, 2023
HiveBuzz rewards participants in the Afri-Tunes Anniversary event
The Hive Gamification Proposal