Adventures in Onboarding

in LeoFinance • 3 years ago (edited)

Some of you know I've been fiddling around with a new onboarding scheme. Basically, I'm openly advertising Hive on Steem. 😎

The "hard part" was getting Steemit, Inc. to let me do this. Turns out, a really important first step is to get blocked.

Now that I'm blocked, they mostly leave me alone and I can do what I want over there. They have noticed me, but their solution is to downvote me and also reply to my posts with a warning. But the warning cannot be seen because they blocked me and no replies show.

Therefore, I'm free to continue my shenanigans. To recap, here's what I typically do:

  • I'm running a block follower (drphil) to upvote everyone on Steem who posts for the very first time.
    • This is key because it focuses on folks who really don't have much of a time investment in Steem yet and it avoids the folks that do.
    • This gets my name in the post as the top voter, typically.
  • The author sees my name and will follow my Steem account, about 7% of the time.
    • Which means when the author goes to their /feed page to see posts by the folks they follow, it will include me, due to an oversight in Steemit, Inc.'s blocking mechanism.
  • I will occasionally post (taunt) in my Steem communities because it lets me pin them for later reference.
    • These posts will show in follower feeds, regardless of if I pin them.

With all of the above going on, I could just walk away from it and let my block follower upvote indefinitely. The upshot is, for every 14-15 upvotes I cast, one of those upvotes will get a follow and I don't have to do anything.

When they follow me, I can tell them what I want to tell them. Usually, I just post memes and other stuff that highlights the problems with Steem. I don't really have to keep posting because the bug in their blocking mechanism means that none of my historical posts will show in my follower feeds, only my critical ones after being blocked do.

Y U Do Dis?

Does this really lead to Hive sign-ups? It appears to, yes. Comparing my account history (votes cast) and corresponding new accounts on Hive, I'm seeing a 1% vote-to-sign-up rate. If you do the same kind of comparison for existing accounts, meaning after my vote on Steem, how many accounts are then active on Hive, it's about 2%.

These are the accounts that just so happened to join after my Steem upvote (may or may not be correlated):

createdlast postnew account
2021-04-28 20:22:00 UTC@mr-elephantpapa
2021-04-29 08:32:03 UTC@rukazax
2021-04-30 11:22:03 UTC@roliz
2021-04-30 19:38:54 UTC2021-05-07 23:18:18 UTC@dexigneer
2021-05-02 07:02:33 UTC2021-05-12 14:24:06 UTC@aco5
2021-05-02 10:54:03 UTC@limetoken
2021-05-07 01:40:03 UTC2021-05-10 18:22:27 UTC@dehirry
2021-05-08 23:59:36 UTC@angry-man
2021-05-09 08:22:03 UTC2021-05-11 09:17:39 UTC@shahidkalwani
2021-05-10 01:03:03 UTC2021-05-11 13:05:48 UTC@zology69
2021-05-10 03:15:03 UTC2021-05-12 02:23:24 UTC@siddharthruhil
2021-05-11 14:44:03 UTC@qzl521
2021-05-11 17:39:54 UTC2021-05-12 15:36:00 UTC@olachi
2021-05-11 23:15:03 UTC@misnely
2021-05-12 00:28:12 UTC2021-05-12 00:42:48 UTC@gannzo67
2021-05-12 02:06:12 UTC2021-05-12 02:45:06 UTC@travler07
2021-05-12 12:08:03 UTC2021-05-12 12:27:57 UTC@pitsaboy

Obviously, these are not huge numbers. But it's something. And I know there's no guarantee it had anything to do with my block follower. It could just be uncorrelated sign-ups by folks who intended to join both chains anyway.

Even if that's the case, it's still interesting.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

Hey, I might be on the list but it was purely coincidental. How I jumped ship was due to the weird feeling I got that steem was curated by bots rather than people which got me a little on edge... Something felt a little off. I went to do a little digging and read about the history of the fork. The 1% correlation might not equal causation, for my case at least.

Good to know. That's kinda ironic since I run that voting bot on Steem in order to indirectly attract folks to Hive.

But yeah, one of the reasons I posted this was to see if anyone in my report would chime in. I consider this a null result, which is an important aspect of analysis, so thank you.

I really ask myself why you would do this?
Yes, we need new users, but 'steal' them from another platform by making them look bad doesn't seem a good way to me.
This might trigger steemians to do the same on here.

I'm from after the hostile takeover, so I don't have any bad feeling about Steem, so maybe that's why I don't get it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This might trigger steemians to do the same on here.

I welcome this. My "attack" on Steem is not based on fallacies like ad-homenem (tron-man-bad), for example. My main point is that Steem is not doing any meaningful development. There might be work here and there supporting the chain, but nothing at all in terms of core development.

If someone from Steem would like to make this particular case against Hive, I would be happy to go over it with them.

I am not stealing anything. I am shedding light on this question and mocking them when their only response is blocking me.

LOL. The things you do for entertainment :D

Nice work.

Out of the box thinking is a requirement.

LOL! I got blocked on Steem for criticising them during the takeover. I know there's something in the ToS saying you cannot promote other platforms. I assume people can actually see your comments though. I think mine are only visible with a direct link, so I don't bother. Anyway, if you can persuade a few to try Hive then it's worth it.

Small steps lead to big results. I think if you are seeing positive results continue because why the hell not!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Haha, love your work :P

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

accelerating the momentum

Now that I'm blocked, they mostly leave me alone and I can do what I want over there.

That's hilarious! 😂

Most fun post I've read for a long time.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Keep up the good fight!
Perhaps you can help me....
Im wanting to move all my steem to leodex but can't seem to fund out how. Any help would br greatly appreciated.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

  1. Go to https://hive-engine.com/
  2. Click Deposit
  3. Select STEEM and follow those instructions

At that point, you can use either hive-engine.com or leodex.io to trade SWAP.STEEM (they use the same order books).

Congratulations @inertia! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 8500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 8750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Decentralized blacklists and Mutes lists
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 3 years ago (edited) 

I can help you with it. I have some experience to convert people :)

If we can onboard more smooth you can make something like " claim your free hive wallet on hive" some clicks, bam wallet.

With some explainer is updated St__m or St__m 2.0.

You are on an old version of proof of brain :D

Important would be they download hive keychain. So I'm sure they don't want to use steem again :)

btw do they allow to advertise? Would be also funny like the facebook advertisement critics that happens some weeks ago :D

facebook advertisement critics

What happened? Sounds interesting...