You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spotlight On HBD: There is Hidden RISK Involved in “Chasing Big Numbers!”

in LeoFinance2 years ago

I concur. I did start switching to 50/50 post rewards instead of my preferred 100% when the announcement hit, but the last crypto sale led me to sell off a lot of HBD for HIVE, because the staking is where I see the most long-term value. Do we want people here for a quick buck, or long-term? But on the other hand, the 20% return could help encourage people to accept HBD as a marketable currency instead of just offloading it immediately for Bitcoin, so I can see the argument for encouraging an ecosystem for it.

Sort:  

HIVE and HBD are completely different.

The first has speculation while the latter is fixed income.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Indeed, they are definitely very different. But they remain interdependent in the sense that if it is more attractive to hold HBD than Hive (in people's MINDS, regardless of the market movements) people will sell Hive to buy HBD... and vice versa.

I look at it from the building value and where it is driven to.

Development needs to take place to build value for HBD by building value for $HIVE.

Of course, we also have to take the steps to build value for HBD on its own.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

HIVE is also power on the platform regardless of price though.

That is true. There is utility with it.

However, when looking at the reason why most are investing is different.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

As a content ceator and active curator, I value HP. I also think HIVE itself is undervalued against the dollar right now because Bitcoin took a hit and dragged altcoins down with it, but I acknowledge I could be wrong here. I know I am gambling on market changes, but I suspect HIVE has a bigger upside even compared against compound interest in the next few years.

If I were to go inactive for a period of time, I would consider a change in my holdings. I might power down some HP, buy HBD for the 20% interest, and delegate more to Ecency and OCDB for an return on HIVE above and beyond the interest rate there.

I am on 50/50 post rewards, as well. I am also slowly building a savings balance in HBD. And I reckon I'll keep doing that for as long as I feel inclined/have time to actively post.

The thing that concerns me in a curation only scenario is that you (meaning "any random person") can earn more from holding HBD than from staking Hive for curation rewards. So where's the incentive to buy Hive? And if that incentive is lessened... where's the counter-pressure on the BUY side of the market to offset those who are always selling every cent they earn here?