You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LeoThread 2024-05-08 15:18

in LeoFinancelast month

Every year around this time, my house becomes under attack by carpenter bees (it’s a log cabin). They burrow into the wood, then wood peckers come and try to dig them out. It’s always a hassle trying to mitigate the damage

Sort:  

When I lived in a log cabin we had a similar issue. Wish I could move back. The owner we rented from tore it down after we moved.

SO what do you do to get rid of them? We have them come around too at this time of the year

I bought some traps, and I swat them haha I always feed them to my ducks, they love em. Treating the wood is one of the best ways to keep them away. Caulking their holes and staining the wood. But seems impossible to beat them for good

ok thanks, good to know! I'm wondering if my chickens would like them. Probably

My in-laws back porch has been massively infested with these things for 30 years. We used to sit back there as teens and shoot at them with BB guns.

I thouroughly expect the whole back porch to just collapse one day :-)