Struggle Story: Sweeney's Second Parity Piglets

in LeoFinance8 months ago

1697076735202.jpg
To start with, I want to begin retelling about myself because it's been a while. I started my hive journey just last June 6, and I eventually became a #dreemerforlife and on level 6 on #dreemport.

I used to teach and had my stumbling and mumblings with life's rough course but eventually found my balance before the pandemic hit the Philippines.

I was trained for global missions, and community work but I can't perform well within a team. I work best alone and within my pacing.

I'm still working in the community and the church on weekends but Monday to Friday, I am in charge of a friend's feeds store.

Since we're in the feeds business, she, my employee, and a friend encouraged me to have my pigs and chickens to raise for my ultimate goal of helping out others too.

It's kind of funny for Sweeney, my first ever sow had given birth to 10 piglets for the first time, one was dead and the remaining eight were sold right on time and I had paid my Uncle the money I borrowed for Sweeney's food. I keep one piglet and she's named Brenda from my brother's name Bryan, my second sow. Brenda is proposed for Bryan's college expenses.

IMG_20231012_100535.jpg

Let's go back to Sweeney.
She had her AI, artificial Insemination if you're not familiar with it and she gave birth to 14 piglets but 2 didn't survive and I had 12 healthy ones. I was so optimistic about feeding them up as I kept thinking they'd be sold at the right price at the right time.

Unfortunately, it's not what happened and I got so overwhelmed. I sold one big female piglet to my Mom's best friend Aunt Elsie a month after their birth for just 3500 pesos. I used it to buy more feeds.

Buyers are not willing to pay the right price and keep saying there's ASF or African Swine Fever that's threatening swine lives. I didn't give in and I ended up being bothered and troubled every day on how to feed the 11 heads.

Two months passed after their birth and Ugyon Microfinance Incorporated where my parents loaned Sweeney that I took ahold of, they took 2 piglets as payment. It was sad that I fed them 2 weeks more than when they were supposed to get it. I asked for extra pay and they gave me 600 pesos per head and it's 1200 so I was able to buy ingredients for pancit, sopas, and some bread to celebrate Mom's 50th birthday last October 1.

And so, I have 9 heads left and gosh, they're eating so lots and so much more. I am deep in debt and I don't know where to get more. I renovated the small pigpen for they barely move due to tight space and they keep growing so I asked my other Aunt to loan 10k pesos I'll be paying 500 pesos weekly for 23 weeks.

IMG20230917062854.jpg
my crowded pigpen with just bamboo as its fence.

I was barely meeting needs with fish for my puppies and cats with kittens, chicken cracked corns and booster feeds for chicks, rice we eat, and payments to loan companies and credits on so many e-wallets.

I was drowning and I was so unstable.
I resorted to physical labor to be able to sleep due to exhaustion.

One thing I do is visit the farm and slice banana trunks and taro stalks to somehow relieve my expense on feeds.

My appetite for food and living was depleted and all I was thinking was, hoping my life would end soon, I was so tired. I took comfort in the fact that I am just a mortal being, whatever this is, it will end.

It was in my head but I do share it with my sister, my Mom, and some friends. I do believe that my Christian friends prayed for me, and one of the missionaries in Indonesia who visited our church told me she did pray for me. I was so grateful. She's a great friend now and did tell me she's praying for an opportunity to invest in my future piglets.

It's awesome that I swallowed my pride and asked my childhood friend who is an OFW, for help. Thank God I figured it out.

IMG_20231012_100702.jpg

I'm still raising the piglets but she paid for it and had a budget for the food but when selling it, all of the money is hers, thus giving her profit 🤞. She's a great friend to me and she has known me since we were in elementary so she trusted me. She didn't pay in full and the feeds are gone so I went to my Aunt Doris again whom I owe 15k pesos already and proposed to give her two piglets for an additional 5k, same deal with my OFW friend.

And so, with 9 heads now, 4 of it is now mine but grateful the food keeps coming and my bills are paid with the piglets' sales.

When I did say I figured things out, I did. Some of it for you know, got one kid now, my goat gave birth and my chicks keep coming and dying due to rain. I'm still learning the ropes of farming. If my Mom's calling, I do pray it's a good thing for most of the time, it's my pet's death just like yesterday when two of my healthy chicks got drowned in the rainwater.

Farming is and always will be risky and what keeps me going is, the reward of the hard work; it's worth it.

Loses are inevitable and God forbid I'm losing my mind too.

So grateful I'm on the shore.🤍

------------°-----------------°-----------------°------------

@tengolotodo hi! Hahaha, I'm kind of back now. Talking about the issue I thought would send me to my grave. Haha
------------°-----------------°-----------------°------------
Posting on #leofinance I feel like my main topic here is #dinero.😁

------------°-----------------°-----------------°------------

All the photos are mine; they contain watermarks. I use Grammarly to improve my grammar and paragraphs.

Your visit is valued and feel free to leave a trace below for me to visit you.

Thanks. Gracias. Salamat.

Ciao!

Sort:  

It is good to see you back Jelly.

now I note you say dinero and that is why you posted in leo finance. However leofinance has actually branded into INLEO and any topic goes!
Check out The Vision of INLEO

All that being said I am glad you are back and becoming more regular, it will help pay for some of the farm bills!

Wow! That sounds amazing. And yes. I have so many stock of pictures and stories to tell and grateful I found another app, writer Lite to draft my articles offline. Hope this will be a more stable comeback. And yes, farm bills keep coming in haha

Thank you for the link.☺️

Oh yes having somewhere to write offline is good. There is no excuse not to post then and get those bills paid for!!!

!PIZZA
!LOLZ

Why did the farmer dress his pig in an apron?
Pretty soon he would be bacon.

Credit: reddit
@jellyvine, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of tengolotodo

(3/8)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

Hahaha gonna stretch this some more. Selling another piglet to feed the others. I need to sacrifice him for you know, not much in my wallet to feed them yet hahaha

hehe stretch Jelly stretch!
Well that is what it is all about, little things do them over and over and then it gets easier and easier!

Congratulations @jellyvine! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - October 15, 2023

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@tengolotodo(2/15) tipped @jellyvine