Brawl Report #43 - An average brawl for a change

in LeoFinance7 months ago

Splinterland Brawls are a guild event where you can earn merits and SPS. This post serves as a way for me to review how my fights went and as a reminder to sign up for the next brawl. I have missed brawls in the past and it hurts when Gladius cards can now be used in ranked battles using the soulbound summoners. It's been the toughest brawl so far as I lost most of my fights as I fight in the gold foil fights.

Brawl Result

image.png
I chose the gold foil modern brawl and got 2 win and 2 losses. My rewards for the brawl were 3,889 merits and 39.492 SPS in the 2 star category. My guild ranked 2nd place out of the 10 guilds there. I choose to take the gold foil modern brawl because my guild usually doesn't fill all their spots and I prefer to give my other guild members a chance at the brawls. We did quite well even if my own results were not that great.
image.png

Brawl fights

There were 2 fights that I lost and 2 that I won. So I included an idea of what the match was below along with a few thoughts about it.

image.png
You can find the first match here. I won this match and my use of sneak monsters came in quite well. I think my opponent focused too much on monsters that could not attack. So I was able to take out my opponent gradually over the course of the fight.

image.png
You can find the second match here. I lost this match and I couldn't do much against that repair monster. It reduced my damage because I was focused more on ranged damage. I could take out a few monsters but by then, all my magic monsters died.

image.png
You can find the third match here. I lost this match because I missed too many attacks. The dodge ability from my opponent's summoners just caused me to miss too many attacks. If it wasn't for that, I would have won.

image.png
You can find the fourth match here. I had a draw in this match but the brawl winner was me because I was the arena host. It's one of those rare situations where it does come into play.

Conclusion

I think doing 4 fights for 3,889 merits and 39.492 SPS SPS is a pretty good reward for the effort. Our guild recovered to an extent and I at least got 50% this time around. So I am happy with how this brawl went. 3 star brawls are just way too tough and the biggest handicap is my gold foil card levels. Brawls are a great way of earning SPS and merit for the number of battles you participate in. So I think it is worthwhile for people to participate in these brawls. My current brawls are in the three star category.

Are you taking part in Guild Brawls?

Feel free to leave a comment if you read my post. If you have any questions, feel free to ask and I will do my best to answer.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

People share about brawls and it looks good but I don't know much about it. Now its next on my list to learn and understand. You create nice and helpful posts. Thanks.

It's basically a few more fights where you fight as a guild. Based on the number of wins your guild has, you get a set amount of rewards and you just need to submit all your fights.

This sounds good and I think this is also a good option to get some nice reward if there is good performance by the guild. thanks for explaining.

Another decent outing, and some merit to hit the market with. Placing second is never easy. So if you're an area host, a draw is an automatic win?

Yes. If you are the host and you get a draw, it's your win.