Golem Overlord First Impressions

in LeoFinancelast year

I started playing the game Golem Overlord recently. This is more of an idle game where you come back every now and then to claim the rewards similar to that of Terracore. It also has a battle system and the overall feature of how things work is very similar. Golem Overlord is a game here on the Hive Blockchain and more information about the game can be found under the account @golem.overlord. This game is still in alpha so the basic gameplay is there and I haven't had many issues with the game features. However, the changes have been fast and sometimes I find it hard to catch up.

Golem Overlord

You can visit the Golem Overlord website to start playing the game.

Starting the game

image.png
Going to the website leads you to the following page, and you can login using Hive Keychain.
image.png
Starting the game so that you can earn does cost 20 Hive which was the same cost as what I paid for Terracore.

Main Menu

image.png
This was the main menu when I first started. As you can see, the upper left side includes all your stats, upper right is your tokens as well as some statistics, lower left has your game log and the bottom right has the links. In the middle of the bottom part of the screen is a claim for the mined PART tokens and the default claim time is 8 hours.

Algorithm and Golem Charging both help your mining rate. Power increases your battle strength, fortification increases defense, faith increases how much you earn from fights that you won, and banked is a staking feature to increase how much you can store.

image.png
What I showed earlier was the screen when I first started and this is how the UI has changed in just a few days. The stats have not changed too much but there are a lot more features added to the game. Some of the changes have made it so that you receive a penalty if you don't burn at least 75% of what you claimed. As it is right now, I am not at that limit so I am getting a penalty. I am working hard at fixing that but it might be a day or two before I can resolve that. They have also made it so that you can change how long it takes to claim but I don't think most people can access that yet because it requires a higher algorithm level. There are probably way more changes but I haven't really bothered too much because they are making changes daily and by the time this goes live, something else might have changed as well.

My Approach

I did a different approach from Terracore and decided to sell a portion of my earnings to recoup my initial cost. This allowed me to recoup about 15 Hive worth of my investment and I thought it was a good idea until the new changes reduced my earnings. I understand why they wanted to make the changes and I am working on trying to improve my own burn or stake rate to be above the 75% burned/staked. Other than that, I was just spending a portion of my mined tokens and selling a small portion to recoup costs.

Conclusion

Overall, I like the game and how it's less hands on compared to Terracore. The only issue is that I was caught off-guard by the changes that reduced my earnings because I was taking a bit of profit to recoup my initial investment. Besides that, I don't really see any issues and I think I liked the start of the game more than the start of Terracore. Granted, I was a few days late on Terracore and I got in on the first day of Golem Overlord.

Have you started playing Golem Overlord yet?

Feel free to leave a comment if you read my post. If you have any questions, feel free to ask and I will do my best to answer.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I haven't started to play either Terracore or Golem Overlord. I simply don't find the necessary time to invest in more games. It's nice to see such games see the light of day on Hive:-). Thanks for sharing your first impressions!


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project and it will be highlighted in the next post! Comment Footer.jpg

Thanks. Golem was made by Splex so it's quite interesting and they are making constant updates. So there is a lot changing still in the game.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This is the first time I hear about Golemoverload, the UI looks cool and from reading your post about it, it looks like a game worth trying out.
Nice to see more games popping up on Hive.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yea. The price seems to be holding up on PART tokens because of the new changes. They are kind of forcing people to upgrade or stake tokens in order to make sure that they get maximum rewards. I sold a bit too much (got back 15 of my 20 initial investment Hive) so I am in the process of building up my percentage to be in the safer range before taking any more profits.

!CTP

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating your Leo power to @india-leo account? We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.