You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Is Web3 and Is It Already Here?

in LeoFinance11 months ago

Technology takes time to play out and the first time I saw web3, I thought of www. It was already part of almost every url so I was confused. It was only after that I learned what it would look like and I don't think we are close to seeing what Web 3 is. I think Web 2 is going to last for quite a while longer until we have something that can replace that. The metaverse is decades out.

Sort:  

Technology takes time to play out and the first time I saw web3, I thought of www

Ah, I see why you made that confusion. In fact, sometimes ww, www2, www3, etc. may be used as subdomains instead of www, to add to the confusion.

I think Web 2 and Web 3 will coexist for a good while even after Web 3 catches on. We still have Web 1.0 after all, it didn't just vanish. The difference is its weight in the total internet is now much smaller and decreasing.