You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Leo Talk 4/29/2021 -Come Join Our Chat

in LeoFinance3 years ago

WAX has been fighting with the high influx of users recently. To combat this and the huge stress the network was under, they have done 2 the two things below

  1. Decrease the CPU available per user
  2. Captchas

The decrease in CPU is similar to them saying each comment, post and vote is now 5x the current RC cost. So you must stake more to use the network. The 2nd was to deal with bots.

What do you think?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I think that scaling is a problem that all blockchains are going to run into.

In talking to Blocktrades, he said that is one of the reasons why, after the split from Steem, his focus was on optimization. Well cost was a major reason but getting the chain to scale was vital.

We are sitting on the best technology. Few can handle things the way we do on here.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yea but I am wondering what type of options they will be pursuing. Will they force people to do catpchas for every single transaction or will they just increase the RC cost to force users to stake more.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hard to tell.

The bottom line is that when you have scaling issues, without expanding the capabilities of the network, there is only one thing to do: less activity.

It is a horrible position to be in. But that is what many will see I believe if they get popular. Blocktrades mentioned that he did not think other chains were focusing upon that.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Interesting, I'd never looked at things from this perspective. It's good to know that our foundations are solid like few others.

It can prove to be a crucial advantage in the future.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

All the boring stuff that Blocktrades focused upon (from the user perspective anyway) were vital to the operation of the blockchain. The fact that scaling was the first thing they went after was genius.

We did, it seems, what nobody else was looking at doing.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That was some good long-term view I guess. Glad we have people like that on the wheel

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I am glad that scaling is their main focus. I was just thinking about that yesterday. Since everyone talks about more users, the priority should be how to handle them when they show up!

Thankfully Blocktrades is not putting the carriage before the horse and has foreseen the main problem that a massive influx of users could create.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thankfully Blocktrades is not putting the carriage before the horse and has foreseen the main problem that a massive influx of users could create.

Yes granted it was financially driven. They had to optimize to get costs down. Now running the blockchain is a fraction of the cost as it was before.

Plus we were on a path to where the blockchain would stop since there werent servers big enough to handle things.

Hence we have a much better operation on many different levels.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Will this solve the loading problems like for comments? I don't know how long a 10k comment page would take to load.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Did you get the link I posted for you?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yea I saw it but I don't think it solves the underlying issue. It may help the starting people take off but I think having zero NET staked is a good idea either.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Just thought I'd post it to you as it was on topic of your article.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yea I like that they are thinking about how to use the starter benefits but even that won't solve things going on when its a problem with WAX itself. It only pushes the problem down the line and NET is barely used most of the time.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think scaling issues are nice to have because it only shows how many people all around the world are interested.

Staking more to use the network is fine but I think it will all come down to the question - How much more? If people can't afford it, they will be put off and some other project will solve that problem to rise itself. This is what happened with ETH & BSC.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yea as stated in some of the below comments. I think its great that HIVE has though of this beforehand but its always better to bring things up before it happens. Otherwise we won't know what will hit us.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yepp, DPoS solves this problem!!! Good that we are following this protocol, faster and scalable as compared to other protocols. Dan Larimer created it and you can see that top 10 Blockchains based on the amount of activity, most of them are using DPoS or DPoS 2.0

https://blocktivity.info/

image.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

With the TLM hype people litterally assaulted WAX and the implementation of CPU limits and captchas was probably necessary to fight abuse. I think what WAX is doing well is that they make onboarding pretty simple. Once hive has a similar onboarding process, it will encounter similar problems (a lot of users and bot abuse). The fact that people need to stake more CPU has an advantage that more wax has to be staked and this can have a positive effect on its price.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm not familiar with WAX but your comment got me interested because of the onboarding process. I really think Hive is lacking on that. I'll check it out to see how it looks like

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

In this respect, WAX is the most userfriendly crypto platform that I have encountered. There are already a lot of Hive projects (Risingstar, Splinterlands, CTPSB, Musicforlife,...) that are spreading out to wax because of it and because it shares a lot of interesting aspects with hive, like free transactions.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yea the free transactions are a huge plus to the blockchain and for integration with other platforms.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yea its an easy onboarding process. Just pick a way to create the account and you are good. Once logged in, you don't have to keep re-inputting but the captchas annoy me though.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes it does but the barrier to entry is now increased. I don't see it looking good for the new users and if the influx continues, it means we got to stake even more. Yesterday, I staked another 20 WAX to be safe (a day's earning for me). I think I am still below the CPU limits I was a few weeks ago though.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I exited WAX weeks ago. Sold all $WAX and I don't regret it. I am not crazy about worthless NFTs :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Its a block chain built for NFTs so I think it has quite a bit of potential and I think I will continue to build there.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

True. It is a great piece of technology with a lot of potential. Yet, most of the NFTs on it are junk. Sorry, that's how I see it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I don't disagree. There aren't many use cases for most of them and I am just building on trying to create a Rplanet Aether generation stream.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I skipped Rplanet since I have enough of pay-for-play games for a while :)

I haven't paid for my NFTs and its all organic growth lol. Just takes maybe 20-30 minutes a day in total.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta