Splinterlands: Season Rating Reset and why I decided not to advance to Gold league anymore

in LeoFinancelast year

In a post about ranked battles and leagues changes, Splinterlands announced that they would be making some changes to the mana cap in battles and where players would start in a new season. I thought the changes would have taken place right away but the first time these changes will be applied will be during the next season.

Season Rating Reset Changes

image.png
Above is the table that the Splinterlands teams released. As you can see, If I was in Gold I (where I usually am at the end of a season), I would not be going back to Silver but rather, I would be in Gold rank. This means that my original strategy of fighting in Silver and advancing to Gold during the last few days does not work anymore. My deck is not competitive enough for me to consider Gold rank as the primary battlefield and I prefer to just stay in Silver Rank.

image.png
I verified that these changes will be taking place next season above when I checked the Season Rating Reset for Gold I. This means that I will not be advancing my league. It's a bit disappointing and it will also mean that I won't get as many high quality chests either. I should get more Silver chests to make up for part of it though.

image.png
On a side note, it looks like ending the season in Silver I will mean that I will stay in Silver rank and I don't have to worry about the bronze rush. I still have to be careful during the first part of the season because I don't want to drop down but I dread the bronze rush because that was where most of the bots were in the past. I don't know if it's better now but at least that is one thing that I won't have to worry too much about.

My strategy

Due to these factors, my plan is just to stay in Silver for the foreseeable future. I don't feel that comfortable going to Gold rank and fighting there all season. When I tried ending up in the champion league and I had to fight in the Gold league in the past, it wasn't a great experience. Either way, there are changes happening and we have no choice but to adapt.

Conclusion

It is kind of annoying to see that all these changes are happening around the same time because the rental changes also happened recently. It has changed my own rental strategy and I am still waiting to see what I will do towards that side. I haven't fought for Silver chests in a while so I am not sure how that will change my seasonal chest goal amount. This use to be 50 gold chests but I won't be advancing anymore to get a boost in points plus chests.

Are you making any changes to your ranked battle strategies due to these changes?

Feel free to leave a comment if you read my post. If you have any questions, feel free to ask and I will do my best to answer.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Advance to gold at least on the last day. To play for gold season chests. Much better rewards like that.
Just my 2 cents

If you read my post, I don't think it's worth it. If I advance to Gold, I will end in Gold I which means that I won't be in Silver at the start of the next season. It doesn't make sense since my deck is a better fit for Silver rank than it is for gold. For just a few days of gold chests, it's not worth the tradeoff.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's true if you finish in Gold 1. Try to "rig" your CP so you end up in Gold 2 then you'll reset in silver but have gold season chests.
It easy to rig your CP, just delegate some high CP cards for that one day

That is a valid thing to do. I'll see how ending in Silver first and if then I'll see if that will work out for next season.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

When I tried ending up in the champion league and I had to fight in the Gold league in the past, it wasn't a great experience.

Lol, this got me laughing! I know those experiences of getting whooped by the top Gold players.
Thanks for sharing this, I have not been up to date with the changes. I will just have to advance to the Gold league and see how it goes.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Just be aware that if you go up to Gold rank, you probably won't be stuck in Gold rank. I think you will definitely end the season in Gold I and the seasonal reset will put you in at Gold III. So there won't be an option to stay in Silver and farm out chests like in the past.

!CTP

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Lol yes, I will give it a shot and see. I am keen on better rewards.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta


Do you know you can win a Chaos Legion pack and many other things just by following some simple steps ?? Check out our Latest Daily Showcase and Participate our latest Giveaway. Thanks

SPLBDVoter.gif

DELEGATE HIVE POWER TO BDVOTER & EARN HIVE DAILY.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL & CHECKOUT OUR HIVE BLOG & TWITTER PAGE FOR DAILY CURATION REPORT

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121