Splinterlands Weekly Challenge Battle BATTLE MAGE SECRETS! Target Practice

in LeoFinance6 months ago


Every week there is a Splinterlands challenge to share a rule set using a specific card and on this week's post it is a battle with the Target Practice rule set. I also encourage Splinterlands players to partake in the challenge because you get to try different strategies and earn some crypto in the process.

Rule set, Battle and Plan

rule set.png

The ruleset this time is Target Practice and Super Sneak. This means that melee monsters gain sneak and ranged/magic monsters gain the snipe ability. There is also 14 mana available and I am left with the choice of fire, water, life, and death splinter.

summoner.png

The summoner I choose to use this time is Mother Khala. It gives +1 health so my monsters should live longer and I can play cards to their highest level.

SplinterMana CostPositionReason
Mother Khala3Summoner+1 Health
Blinding Reflector31stMagic Reflect
Soul Fiend02ndFiller monster
Pelacor Conjurer23rdFlying and Magic Reflect
Dax Paragon24thAmplify
Crystal Jaguar45thThorns
Total Mana:14

My plan is to take advantage of the ruleset to reflect damage to my opponent. This is why I have magic reflect at my third spot and thorns at my last spot. Following that, I have Dax with amplify to increase the counter damage. The rest of my monsters tend to be fillers but I want them to live longer so that counter damage can destroy my opponent.

Round 1

round 1.png
At first glance, I think I am in trouble. My opponent isn't using magic monsters like I thought he would be and it depends on just how fast I can kill off my opponent. I don't see this match ending that well because my opponent focused on quality over quantity.

Round 2

round 2.png
I was able to take out the melee monster but it's not looking that great for me. Once that trample takes effect, I will be in trouble. It's going to be a slow fight so I will just speed things up till the match is almost over.

Round 8

round 8.png
After a few rounds where I dodged a few attacks, I am down to one monster. I don't think there is any chance for me to win given the speed difference.

conclusion.png
I lost like I expected because my opponent didn't miss.

Conclusion

The battle did not go as I expected. I tried to rely on the counter damage to deal a decent amount of damage against my opponent but Diemonshark destroyed my team with that trample. I still think I had a solid strategy with the magic reflect and thorns though if my opponent played differently. Overall, I still think I did quite well by reducing my opponent down to 1 monster left. Overall, my plan failed but I still think it was a solid lineup if my opponent used magic monsters. Sometimes quantity doesn't win over compared to quality.

You can see my entire match here.

What did you think of my match? Was there anything you would have done differently? I think it is quite interesting to see how different players play in a ruleset.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

That was an interesting fight, I was hoping with some luck you would pull it off but the engage and trample ability of Diemonshark can be unstoppable.

Yea it was a tough fight. I wasn't expecting the Diemonshark and that trample definitely hurt.

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 12% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121