Ask LEO - What are your plans for the Speak Airdrop?

in LeoFinance2 years ago

The Speak Network, headed by @theycallmedan and @starkerz have an airdrop coming, with the snapshot happening on Jan 6 2022. I'm pretty sure everyone on Hive is probably aware of this, but here are a couple links if you are not:

image.png

Image Source: SPK network post

My question for the Leofinance and broader Hive community is...

What are your plans?

I'm keen to learn about what will be needed to contribute to the network, and participate fully in the mining process - storing video files locally, or whatever will be required. I've had a quick look through the above links, but am keen to hear peoples plans.

  • Should I buy a separate computer, to dedicate to SPK network with big storage space?
  • What other technical knowledge or equipment would help?
  • What sort of broadband requirements will be necessary?
  • Will it be worth it?
  • Can you stake the miners and earn passively?
  • Anything else I should know?

I'm very excited about both airdrops that Dan is involved in. The gaming one sounds cool, and @edicted has posted about it also. But I'm struggling to put a plan in place for the SPK network one. I don't make video's, but I'm keen to participate. I'm just real uncertain about what technical knowledge may be required to get fully involved.

Fundamentally, I think the need for a decentralized video site comparable to YouTube is pretty obvious. There is a definite need for this product. I'm really hopeful for the success of the platform. I love the tokenomics idea of the SIP, and a permanent sink for multiple tokens in the system looks like a great move. I'm just keen to get an idea of where I may be able to fit in.

Let me know your thoughts, I'd love to here everyone's plans.

Cheers,

JK.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

We Will address this when we record Friday’s community token talk! Great questions

Sounds worth a listen if I'm free - I have a question... why did you opt for the one off snap shot, I thought the original idea was much better - a daily drop for a period, which seems to work so well will so many other projects.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Awesome, I'll look forward to the chat.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

How can I follow this talk? I'm interested!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Seems this boat has a lot of us in it..How does one qualify if the dont post vlog

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Same here.. but they always said HP and Hive, not speak user but on same time you need Speak desktop app too for claiming..
May be try one test vlog then?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, my understanding is anyone with HP. Going to be interesting, I'm learning not to just sell out of airdrops. Starkerz said that all this will be covered in the "community token talk" so we'll learn then.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Everyone with Hive power will be eligible to claim. I'm keen to learn how to add value to the claim by getting involved rather than just selling out and regretting it later.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

And I believe this is the only one the entire block chain is going to grow and everything we do become of any significant value..Crypto and block chain tech are long term..Thus the need to invest in solid projects with serious fundamentals..and having fun with the shiba and friends with a little extra you dont mind loosing.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Never knew they had set a date yet, when people shill anything for more than 6 months, I tend to get bored and stop listening about it. Finger crossed they dont get delayed. I thought it was going to be an airdrop to HIVE holders, I'll be honest and say if work is involved, I'll prob pass on it. Airdrops dont give me a boner the way they used to.

Thanks for the update man

SSUK (not LBI's POV)

Haha, I could have guessed that was SSUK. Yup, date is set. I get it with the long shill time, but what they are setting up sounds pretty tricky, and probably harder than they expected. You know me mate, just looking for an angle here. SPI will need a plan, we'll get heaps.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I don't make video's, but I'm keen to participate.

Same is my situation - I do very few videos and publishing them on @threespeak has not been very rewarding as well - may be because I am not a good editor. Still waiting for the airdrop and then will decide what best can be done.

I stick to text, but video is a big opportunity. I still think there will be a decent opportunity for us.

Watching for updates.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

May be go to places and do some kind of live streams ? @threespeak has live streams I guess.

how can I participate in airdrop @jk6276

It'll be based on a snapshot on January 6 of HIVE and HP. So make sure you have some Hive, and keep an eye on @spknetwork for more updates. I'm sure you will see lots about it on Leo, and all around Hive as the time comes closer.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

gotcha looks like I have to convert my hbd savings to the hive

havent made a lot of vids in a while, but I might get back into it. The platform that I was posting to originally is going through some tough times right now. The project just didnt go the way I thought it would.

Im excited for this though, I'll stake some tokens I can for sure!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's going to be interesting to see how it all unfolds. The concept of a decentralized alternative to YouTube is solid, but as we have seen, and obviously you have experienced first hand, execution is not easy.

Hoping for their success.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well I certainly intend to stake what I can, but on a 4G network I think for me participating in the actual tech will be beyond me.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah the tech side of things will be interesting to see what is required. Hopefully there is a decent way for people to get returns and passive just as stakeholders.

The chat will be interesting.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I would love to be involved an anyway I can. My problem is having a space to set up and run a computer from that can just sit and work. I am thinking of using my old laptop and an external hard drive to manage it and trying to stash it at my kids house somewhere, lol. But yeah, that might be difficult, lol. I do produce allot of videos for this and @thelogicaldude account so I want to be able to support the network if I can somehow.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm going to be interested to see what will be needed. I have the space, but worried I don't have the tech knowledge required. Hopefully they make it easy enough for a pleb like me to participate.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

When I talked to @starkerz at Hive Fest it sounded like they were going to make it pretty easy for anyone to follow so I am feeling good about that. At least I hope. lol.

I am thinking about doing a Windows VPS to run the desktop app. In my situation, being a van lifer, that is my best bet. I am going to spin one up in the next week or so to test things out to see if it will run. I also need it for other things so might as well test it.

That sounds like a plan - and also beyond my current skills. I'm hoping it'll be pretty straightforward.

Enjoy Van life mate.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's a little beyond my skills as well, lol. But gonna break stuff till I figure it out, lol.

Interesting - will have to look into the requirements to make sure I'm eligible. I don't make videos either, but it just might be time to change that!

With the other stuff you have going on, I imagine having the tech to participate will not be a challenge for you. As for making video's, it seems to be where the future of content creation is heading. Might have to get over my personal hang ups and give it a go.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Great question, following for the answers!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Looks like I am not alone in having questions. Looking forward to seeing how we can all get involved and contribute. Hopefully it is not to much of a technical process.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Will HBD be eligible? Hive power that is delegated OUT Is eligible , right?

It looks like Hive power and hive. Delegated out should not be an issue, I imagine you will still get it, but I'm sure the team will have more info as the time gets closer.

I don't see HBD mentioned, so likely not included I guess.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Looks like you'll have the answers from the source on Friday. Or soon after if you watch the recording instead. I don't know how things will finally be, but down the road I hope they can be as easy as torrents were: you have the torrent server/client app and store on your computer what you want and allow others to feed from what you store p2p, while being rewarded for that (that's the news crypto brings). Not much to configure, anyone could do it on any machine. My first contact with decentralization, many years ago.

I really hope that it will be a straightforward process as you describe. That, I will be able to do. Still considering whether to get, or repurpose, some equipment to be specific for this process.

Looking forward to the info from the team.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This one could be a turning point where I'll put some money into "mining equipment". Will have to see the requirements, but getting some passive income would come at hand. Hive is becoming more than a simple social media platform and the future seems more than exciting.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, same. I am keen to see what will be needed, so we can plan ahead and be ready. It is certainly exciting to see all this being built within the Hive community.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The requirements arnt extreme your supposed to be able to use a "Normarl" PC.. hop into the SPK discord server so you can ask the devs there what the minimum specs are.. just like everything else.. the more you bring to the table, the higher your rewards will be.. but the minimum is better than nothing. We'll see how this all works out!

It all hinges upon there actually being a market for the token we are being rewarded with. there needs to be buyers haha

At about the 35:00 - 40:00 minute mark

I spent $1800 to buy a new PC to start fresh, and have a dedicated rig for participating in SPKnetwork.

I think I will do something similar. Everything I'm doing at the moment is on a laptop, and I don't want to over stretch it. A separate system will give me piece of mind.

I wonder what hardware requirements will be to be part of Speak Network. I have an Intel NUC and would be cool to be able to use it for it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I am trying to get as much Hive as I can in position for Jan 6. It is hard with all of these airdrops that I want to be involved in. PolyCub, Blank, SPS, SPK, Ragnarok, LVL, BXT...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Will those of us holding Swap.Hive need to withdraw from hive-engine to our hive wallets?