You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Internet Computer Token - ICP

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

I'm not a fan of ICP. Their system requires nodes to not only buy expensive new hardware, but also aply to be a node. Then, for people that want to run compute on the network, they have to learn and program it in an entirely new programming language. Hardly the hallmarks of a decentralized and permissionless system.

I'm biased in my opinion as I own Akash, (AKT) a different solution to decentralising the cloud. However I think that there is a line between ambitious and unrealistic and i believe that ICP is well on the wrong side of that line.

For the sake of ICP investors, I do hope I am wrong, and that ICP does succeed and perform well. But I'd encourage further research and looking beyond the hype of big exchange listings and massive VC hype.

Best of luck to ICP investors, but I'll be sticking with my Akash.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I think you're bang on the mark there. I have raised eyebrows on this project.

It will be interesting what the future brings but I would think it doesn't sound decentralised but an expensive operation. I could be wrong.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

For comparison:

akash v dfinity.jpg

This is not my work or research, it was sourced from twitter in this post by Edward Diamond-Hands.

Like I said, I'm biased, but I really don't see ICP as a viable investment.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thats quite alarming. I really think that projects need to get the governance together. Election of boards and CEOs and securing actual business people to lead them and people with experience.

I think this will help drive both community confidence and provide some good policy opportunities.

The SEC and for us the ATO is attempting to develop policy but it is failing as it is focused mainly on Bitcoin and Ethereum operations which don't fit other areas.

Obviously that's where the cash is at the moment but it provides red tape to the rest of us.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta