My Financial Situation Is A Disaster and How I Pretend to Overcome

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

pexelsnathancowley897817.jpg
Photo by Nathan Cowley in Pexels


Introduction

It has been passed for almost 2 months since my father passed away. He was a good man, always helping others without receiving anything in exchange. Everybody remembers him as a very kind person now.

The bad side of the story is that my father never had any financial education. He was always borrowing money from banks, so since I was a child —I’m 28 years old— until now we have been living in debt. So, I don’t know what is freedom at all because debt turns us into slaves.

The debt

As I mentioned above, my father is not in this world anymore but the debt is. The total quantity is nearly 11,500€ or 13,890 USD and it breaks down in:

  • Bank loan, 149€ per month, 800€ remains.
  • Another bank loan, 89€ per month, 2000€ remains.
  • Credit card, 119€ per month, 2700€ remains.
  • Loan, 249€ per month, 6000€ remains.

As you can see, I pay every month around 600€ in debt, which is savage, and my salary for this year is around 1600€. Also, the only thing my father left in his inheritance was the house I live in. The house value is probably between 200,000-220,000€ but this is not liquidity unless I sell it. Because of this, I must pay the Government around 5000€ in capital gains, the total is 16,500€.

The (not so) simple solution

At least not everything is bad, my mother has the right to receive a widow pension which should be 800€ per month. This could be a great help but it can take up to 3 months to start receiving the money.

Apart from that, my father had life insurance on the biggest loan but I need to do a lot of paperwork and pray for the insurance company to accept, otherwise, I have to demand the company. I’m currently focusing on the paperwork.

Also, looking at the conditions of the credit card, I found it has an abusive interest of 22.69%. This is called usury and it’s illegal, so if I demand the card’s company, they must cancel the contract and return me all the money my father paid. I will try to reach an agreement with them to avoid the trial.

And last, the easiest will be to liquidate the small loan of 800€ and keep paying 89€/m for the other one until I can repay that too.

Conclusion

Is it going to be hard and long (jokes aside) to pay for all the debts and solve the other problems. In the long term, I expect to learn a lot from this lection and I’ll work to manage my mother’s money so she can have a better wealth and life overall.

I have been learning a lot from my dad's mistakes and maybe if it wasn’t for that, I wouldn't be here. What I want is to close this book and start a new one.

Love you dad.


Follow me on:
Publish0x
NoiseCash
My blog in Spanish

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I don't know but I think maybe it's was a bit hard to write this your story
I'm sorry for your loss .l lost my father almost 20 years ago really left nothing
I see that you are headed in the right direction and I hope everything works out great for you with those other things you mentioned that are important to solve

Debt turns us into slaves.

Debt can be like cancer. But you have the power to treat this cancel.

There is a various approach to it. I'll share some.

  • Read people's advice online.
  • Talk to your Friends and Family.
  • Seek advise from your your Lender.
  • Create a tight budget.
  • Create a payment plan with your lender.
  • File Bankruptcy and start everything over.
  • Find a way to Earn more money.
  • Don't let this situation to overtake your thinking and your actions.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I’m sure I’ll get rid of this situation, the sooner the better.

Thanks for the tips @nathanmars.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta