You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Am Moving To Benin After 15 Years In South Africa

in LeoFinancelast year

Sadly we did not get to meet as planned, nothing to stop connecting through internet or phone.

It will be a new chapter in your life not returning to a country you know, I keep telling my sons the same, sometimes opening a new chapter by flipping the page does us the world of good.

Leaving family is tough which you have already done, the future is now in the hands of this generation.

The world is not a big place it's finding the right country where you feel welcome and at home.

!LUV

Sort:  

These are true words, for me, it is all about a place where I am welcome, safe, and peaceful. And with the digital network state becoming a thing gradually, having a genuine connection with people globally is another aspect of life I cherish.

I am up for this new chapter of my life though it looks unknown from here at present, I am optimistic about the opportunities that will come out through this.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Safety comes first, nothing has been worse than living for so long looking over ones shoulder all the time, with black outs added poverty, now you sleep with one eye open at all times as well.

Change is as good as a holiday, I can only wish you well and look forward to hearing how you progress in Benin.

!BEER

Thank you, Joan means a lot, I went for a meeting last week and had to pass through Joburg CBD with my laptop, it was a risk I took since I am limited on cash while planning my move I was so scared for my laptop I attended the Huawei meeting safely and had to use Uber from Woodmead back home.

I am so used to looking behind me for safety on the streets, it might take a while to stop that when I get back home 😃

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Most are at high risk in this country, Zulu friend related how his son doing matric, was attacked in Scottburgh main road, used his laptop to defend himself from being stabbed at a taxi rank waiting to get home after school in 2020, no one is safe.

People leaving find it takes a couple of months trying to normalize after living with high stress levels for so long.


Hey @joetunex, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Ah man! Just starting to get to know you and now you're heading away to Benin! I hope you always feel kindred to the South African gang on HIVE!