You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should you keep your Hive account anonymous?

in LeoFinance2 years ago

This is an interesting topic you've touched on Daltono, I've been trying to onboard family members lately though its been tough because of distance they need me to hold their hands to setting up an account. On the other side am worried what if these folks gets on Hive, view my wallet and get ideas of me being rich and yet not giving them money. It has been thoughts running through me.

I like the idea of having to create anonymous account to move funds there, I think that will work well with HBD savings.
Currently though I just enjoy being free and known by the community, I like it when I get to address a Hiver by name instead of username, it just creates a feel of real friendship like the physical world lol.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

What you can do is have a custodial account that you store funds on. You have everything for posts and all that on this account here but have your funds and hive power on another account and delegate to this one. It’s a good idea and one that I may end up doing in the future. One of the other benefits on that approach is that the keys are always offline. I don’t know about you but in the early days I was loosey-goosey with my keys and used one that is not a good idea to do things with until a few months in lol. I don’t think it’s compromised but you never know.

Powering down and moving all the funds over to another account is time consuming but it could be the safest bet. Then in the situation of family you can say you’re poor and have a good orca helping you out or something hahaha

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

These are good ideas worth putting to practice to remain low key from those inquisitive eyeballs getting ideas 💡.

No doubt I will have that custodial account in the near future.

Posted using LeoFinance Mobile

Hand holding can be difficult. For instance, it shouldn't be our responsibility to keep track of the keys for these new users. When they sign up they need to get used to it being on them from the start.

Those who continue to sleep on crypto and realize years down the road just how well-off people who got in early become... They surely will be anxious to find a way to get in on those rewards that they were not here for. So I imagine it is scary knowing that friends/family/enemies can all see how much is in your wallet.

Having multiple accounts is the answer. Many of us wish to be public about many things, but there are certain things that should perhaps stay private. Better to think about this now rather than once it's too late.

That's the main reason I held off helping them to create accounts, it is better they learn how to keep their keys safe from the onset.

Thanks for this post Daltono, this has got me thinking of privacy already.

Posted using LeoFinance Mobile