I was buying crypto for 500$ every month for nearly 2 years.

in LeoFinance3 years ago


source

My crypto journey.

In mid-2019, I decided to buy cryptocurrencies regularly every month. I decided to buy these 10 crypto every month for 50$ each. 50$ x 10 = 500 bucks every month.

The first purchases:

Start.jpg

EOS for 5,88$. What i have done? :-)

This was the purchase price for the 6th month.

6 months.jpg

As we can see, it was getting cheaper, so every month more and more coins landed on my wallet.

6 month chrt.jpg

However, the overall investment was in the red.

Purchases and prices in month 12:

12 months.jpg

After a year, the wallet was in green.

12 month chrt.jpg

About half a year ago I decided to make a second wallet on the same principle. There were another 10 crypto in it:

Second portfolio start.jpg

It even includes HIVE. :-)

This is my last purchase First Portfolio:

20 months.jpg

February 2021 of course.

Second Porfolio:

Second portfolio 6 month.jpg

After 20 months, the portfolio made a big profit:

20 month chrts.jpg

When the bubble got too big, I decided to sell all my cryptocurrencies.

Summary of Portfolio 1:

Summary 1.jpg

Take a look at the chart. It looks too good. :-)

Summary chrt.jpg

Summary of Portfolio 2:

Summary 2.jpg

After 20 months of regularly buying cryptocurrencies, I made a pretty good profit. I spent a total of 13,000$ on cryptocurrencies and sold them for 72,000$.

Best gains:

CARDANO + 1328 %
CIVIC + 871 %
ETHEREUM + 681 %
VECHAIN + 663 %
BITMAX TOKEN + 597 %

Worst gains:

EOS + 60 %
HIVE + 116 %
CHILLIZ + 164 %
BASIC ATTENTION TOKEN + 165 %

I did not have a single cryptocurrency in the red. This is probably another signal that we have a bubble?

You can check my journey month by month on YouTube.

At this point I am waiting for a strong correction and who knows, maybe I will do something similar in some time.

I'm curious about your opinions. Did I sell cryptocurrencies at the right time?

Sort:  

Yes of course we have a bubble! But this is not in the Cryptos but in your Fiat Money $!

Those are some great numbers and it is impressive that you were able to sell them all at a good price point. You made a nice profit and didn't keep trying to make a little bit more.

There will be a crash at some stage so you will be able to start all over again when it does. Taking the risk in the first place payed off and nice to see you keep buying all the way through the bear market.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Looks like that nice "basket of cryptos" turned into a bounty on the blockchain! How did you decide on which investments to make? Did you just "set it and forget it" or step in to tweak things once in awhile?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I described the strategy. I was buying the same 10 cryptos every month. The amount I spent on it was one that I could lose, so I kept to the plan calmly no matter what was happening on the market. Until the bubble got too big, of course. Then I decided to sell.

Oh wow, you should have held onto that Binance coin a bit longer! That is still pretty awesome. What a smart move you made back in 2019. I wish that I had been adventurous enough to try something like this. Maybe in the next bear market I will have to try to implement something like this. Congrats on your returns!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks. When there will be a strong correction, I will probably do something similar. In fact, Binance has grown nicely lately. Anyway, I had over + 700% on BNB. :-)

Congratz I think you have made a fine choice to invest continiously.
How did you decide what coins to invest in?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I tried to choose projects that have been on the market for quite a long time or that do something meaningful. There is too much crypto to know enough about all of them.

Good strategy and self discipline. I wouldn't sell though.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @johnmccrypto! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Hive Tour Update - Communities