How Do You Win In Business?

in LeoFinance19 days ago

I made a thread today right after an awful experience I had with popular tech company. It was a heat of the moment 'thread' but alas, I think I can flip this into a fantastic lesson for anyone looking at how to win in business in 2024...

So a quick backstory, I was in business for myself for well over 2 decades. Plenty of wins during those years but even more losses. One of the things I always made sure was a priority was customer service. When others ignored it, I made it a priority. When people did the bare minimum, I made sure our company went above and beyond.

And anytime I put customer service on the back burner, results fell sharply. I learned my lesson over the years, so overall throughout those two decades plus...Making sure my customers where treated with the upmost respect was my mission. I wanted them to feel valued above anything else they had experienced online.

So back to the experience I had today....It was awful. I had to jump through hoops, the website kept crashing when i tried to log in, and the product they promised to ship me, never showed up after months of them saying they shipped it.

Now this wasn't some Mom & Pop shop, this was a multi-national corporation that put customer service on the bottom of their priority list. And it was obvious that they did....

So wanna know the secret to winning in business in 2024?

Wanna know how to separate yourself from basically everyone out there....

Treat your customer good.

Seems so simple but my goodness, you would be blown away at how many companies treat customers like commodities, instead of valuable assets they need to treasure. Mind blowing in fact.

And this doesn't require huge capital, unless you are of course...A multi national company lol

Here's some tips I used over the years:

  • If possible, put a phone number on your website. Now this may not be an option for everyone but wow, I can't begin to describe what a difference this made. And here's the best thing, I put my personal phone number on my websites for years and the amount of sales this translated into was insane. The reason why? No one else in my industry seemed to put their number on their sites.

  • If you have a support desk / ticket system in place, respond ASAP! That doesn't mean 'we will get back to you in 24-48 hours' that means...Right away. Make answering support tickets a priority!

  • When people are reaching out to support they are usually (not always) upset or missing something they thought they would receive. Know this going into any customer service experience and remain calm. Work with the customer to make them a raving fan!

  • Highlight your best customers! Remember, they are your lifeblood. So show them tokens of appreciation at every turn.

  • Do things that they don't expect! I used to send physical post cards to my customers, I'd send them books, tech products heck, I even set up a frequent flyer program LOL Honestly, we did!!! We just wanted our customers experience to be incredible!

The general idea of this post is simple...Make your customers a priority and you will absolutely blown away the competition.

Remember, the reason this will work is because most companies treat customers as commodities. Don't do that and you'll win!!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Those large companies should take customer service more seriously. It sucks to hear about the issues and I agree that a lot of people get frustrated when things don't work. I don't know if I want more phone numbers to call because it just sounds tedious though.

the thing is, people just leave...they dont tell you why, they just stop coming around that's why you need to treat them like gold.

I agree that there should be quickly reply for the customer's problem as not every problem can wait for 24-48 hours to be solved.

yeah it's just an excuse. if companies make that much money and are that busy with requests, hire more people.

a really insightful article. A lot has been learnt from your experience. Customer satisfaction is no easy task I must say, yet it's worth the time. Thanks friend

glad you found value!

There are also times when I give my customers gifts so they will keep coming and I give them discounts too. Well, I don’t do that all the time so that I won’t go bankrupt
That’s just once a while

thats the key...unexpected gifts and tokens of appreciation can last a lifetime.

Los clientes es el recurso mas poderoso...e importante..

That was one of the bases in my way of treating my clients when I worked as a waiter, at each place where I went to work I had a portfolio of clients and some invited me to work with them at their parties or events, so began a small venture that led us to work even in the Country Club in my city, it was amazing, but it all started from treating the customer as if you were yourself.

In the same way, growth in business is not so easy, you have to make a time and a routine and then you have to work day and night on it. They begin.

Totally agree!
Putting customers first is key to standing out in the marketplace.
Many companies forget that it is people that make a business grow.

!LUV

jongolson, edgerik sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

must be a priority!!

Congratulations @jongolson! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 44000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 44500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

In an era where many companies neglect customer service, prioritizing it can indeed set you apart and foster loyalty.