You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is going to drive demand for HIVE?

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Yes, I believe that too and many seem to have the vision, but how exactly does that make HIVE valuable. Having an app with tons of users that generates revenue and buys up their own token with said revenue doesn't really benefit HIVE beyond the modest amount of resource credits required to run it, no?

Sort:  

Ugh, I replied to this, but it looks like it got lost. Sorry. I am not sure what the answer is. I know it needs to be something besides just a blogging platform...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'll play devil's advocate here. What's the real reason/main idea behind Eth?

People originally started holding Eth to interact with the Ethereum Network and pay fees. The thing is that 10 Hive is all it takes to interact to a feeless environment such as Hive and with RC's cost so little we need to find other solutions.

Yes exactly. The reason ETH continues to gain value from all the other coins is that they all need gas to transact and that gas can only be paid in ETH, thus giving the main chain value and driving demand for the coin. HIVE doesn't have that and thus why creating a ton of tokens on top of HIVE doesn't necessarily give it value, in fact it may just pull value out of it which is what we are seeing currently.

I know what you are saying. As I was reading and writing this I started thinking that it is almost too easy to interact on the Hive chain. I think it needs to be more expensive (within reason).

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta