Leaders & Pseudo-leaders at the Organizational Environment

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

image.png

Preamble

When I started my professional career, I did it in the public administration sector, specifically in the coordination of payroll for the Human Resources Management, under the supervision of someone who would eventually become a good friend of mine.
Initially, he only saw in me a brilliant young man with great dexterity to develop programming codes.

I quickly became his "right-hand man".
The heavy work was entrusted to me and I performed them with results always above expectations, since I always try to do more than necessary. For this reason, I managed to climb quickly in the organization, and in a few years, I was on par with my former boss.

On my way within the organizational structure, I was able to meet many valuable people, others who did not contribute almost anything to organizational growth, and there were also some cases of people who even did harm, negatively affecting.

Among all these personalities that I had to deal with during all this time, I was able to realize that there was one aspect that predominated among them: a common characteristic, a practice which I never saw with good eyes, since it causes me a lot of bad humor to see like everyone shirk their responsibility when an inconvenience occurs or when there was a fault or a personal mistake was made.

All of them, the other office workers, my coworkers, were good friends with each other. They treated each other cheerfully and even maintained friendships that were years old.

But all this affection and friendship went down the drain when some inconvenience occurred since they only worried about blaming another for the error, regardless of whether the victim would be their supposed "friend."


My Turn Came

image.png
Source

On one occasion, my former boss was singled out by the authorities for having committed a series of administrative acts that were "almost" illegal over a long period of time. But that would seriously affect his image, to the extent that he had to leave the organization where we worked.

During the period of accusations (when it was discovered what he was doing) that supposed friendship and affection that he claimed to have for me, went down the toilet.
He, my boss, did not hesitate for a single moment to point out to me publicly as responsible for what had happened. Rather, to accuse me as the culprit that his "business" was over.


Reflection

Oftentimes, people who are seen as leaders are "idealized" by the crowd. Over time, this leader comes to feel that he is incapable of error and it is there that he makes the greatest of his mistakes by feeling infallible.

To make things even worse, these pseudo-leaders try to "run the wrinkle" towards the weakest part of the rope in order not to assume their responsibility, and with these acts, they are capable of affecting the image of a good worker who will have to continue working under the accusing gaze of his co-workers, in a contaminated work environment.

These practices are very common in organizational settings. These errors are typical of the weakness of human beings.

For this reason, comprehensive preparation is necessary both in the workplace and in the psychological, so that a person can assume the role of a true leader.

@juanmolina


New Avatar @juanmolina (Mini).png