Hive is taking a dive while BTC flies free

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

Here is my own personal technical analysis of Hive token today. Since I don’t expect any readers, I am writing purely for myself, so don’t take my writing as anything more than my opinion and a fat joke. I like a little humor in the morning but my wit is a little acerbic, so you have been warned.

Hive token price chart Nov2020.png

Since I don’t expect readers and I don’t expect any upvotes, the current value of Hive token does not bother me at all. I can leave a dead horse in the dust and walk away without sentiment. For example Hive is down 17% on the week, compared to BTC which is pumping on the start of its mega bull run.

With BTC approaching the ATH above $18.5k right now, Hive is in the gutter. But that’s not new. Hive lives in the gutter. It only falls and falls... and falls. The gutter is where it likes to live, like the dregs of the alt coins, while BTC reminds us who is king.

The unfortunate souls who were duped into parting with their fiat, or even more tragic, their BTC, will now learn what the gutter is like. Do you want some Steem with that? There was a song once way back some decades now - “The Moon is in the Gutter...” That’s how it started. Well as BTC heads for the Moon, Hive token heard the song and went the wrong way because it thought the moon was in the gutter.

We can laugh about it now but at the time it was a dirty joke. Oh wait now is the time. And the dirty joke is on us, on the Hive community, thanks to Ned, and Dan Larimer, or whomever those Steem/Hive inventors were. It’s a dud guys, but you knew that and that’s why you sold your shitcoin to Justin Sun, the Shitcoin Merchant “par excellance”.
Well I have never and will never invest a dime or a single satoshi in Hive or any shitcoin. BTC is all you need. Maximalists of the world unite and look at the math, the data, the history, the trajectory, and the common sense. Hive is what I get for writing, that’s it. I don’t buy the shit.

That said, I have accrued some Hive token from writing over the past three years on Steem/Hive and I appreciate the lunch money, so I am not totally out of sorts. In fact I am a happy chappy because I own BTC primarily. Hive is just a little something for the weekend, as they used to say, some tip for a few words of wisdom or poetry out of my fertile imagination.

The nowhere coins can stay where they are – nowhere. Of course any technical analysis of mine will always be open to updating if the charts on the day suggest a trend shift. I simply follow the charts, not sentiment, or hype or FOMO. I am too hardened from three years of full time cryptocurrency investigation to be swept up in anyone’s euphoria.
I have never and will never marry any shitcoin. Like Hive token. Even Steem is worth more than Hive, and that says it all guys. With Hive at number 170 in market cap on coingecko.com and 643 sats, Steem is way up there at a rank of 147 and a value of 809 sats as of writing. Close, but no cigar. And not even on the top 100 list. I would be embarrassed.

What I do like about Hive, the social media platform, is that I can speak my mind, Write my journal, my personal thoughts, and publish them, without fear of censorship – for now. China or Soros may take over with their communist plot and censor free speech next week for all I know, but today I can write what I like and not give a continental about readership or votes. Because I am free and Hive is free. That is the value of Hive for me.

Forget the token right now. It’s in the gutter. If one day it lifts itself up, then good, otherwise let it roll downhill to the sea. Some say it has rolled to the support at ten cents and will now rise. I should think so! Look at BTC! Hello! Running a bit late their Hive token. But then so are most of the Alts, so nothing to be done. BTC dominance is in full swing it seems.

Anyway, that was my no nonsense, random TA jibe at the pile of Steem in the gutter, while the BTC goes marching on. No one reads this so no worries mate. Life is beautiful, and sacred too. Stay blessed for you are a star.

Sort:  

I remember when bitcoin dipped to around $3k

Bitcoin is dead
Bitcoin is that...

Hive went up as high as $1 some months ago and people were all about hive.

To me bitcoin is a rubbish token that keeps pumping simply because it is the most popular token--the first. How long would it take for people to discover this and the potentials other supposed shitcoin holds. I say within a decade time when this industry becomes popular enough. What will happen to bitcoin then? Well, only time will tell. Make all the profit you can.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Seems your understanding is so shallow. Humans on this planet need smth better than FIAT. Moving away from Gold standard 50 years ago was a BIG mistake. But why return to gold, when a new GOLD 2.0 been invented? That is BITCOIN.
Nobody could even dream in the 70-ties about such perfect solution. So I can justify Richard Nixon's big mistake.
Bitcoins ultimate best feature is it's scarsity. Nobody, no presidents nor banksters have power to change it. This is the BEST feature of Bitcoin. And this why Bitcoin will win the world. And will make it a better place in universe.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Humans on this planet need smth better than FIAT

The answer is cryptocurrency not just bitcoin

Moving away from Gold standard 50 years ago was a BIG mistake. But why return to gold, when a new GOLD 2.0 been invented? That is BITCOIN.

The golden standard was what brought about banknote--fiat. And this was as a result of its scarcity, divisibility and transferability problems.Do your research.

Bitcoins ultimate best feature is it's scarcity.

Scarcity in itself is a flawed concept as it is often manmade. Abundance is better. There is enough to go if resources are managed properly.

Nobody, no presidents nor banksters have power to change it.

That is the potent power of cryptocurrency, not bitcoin. Bitcoin is one crypto out of thousands. It currently enjoys the benefits of being the first crypto but as history may have it, the first isn't always the best in the long run.

People don't trust the traditional financial system because it is not transparent. It is controlled by a few--the government. Cryptocurrency/blockchain technology (not just bitcoin) solves this problem.

P.s I am not against bitcoin. We need bitcoin (for now). However, it will not be the face of the crypto industry forever that I assure you. I will put my bet on utility tokens.

No Hive has never been worth $1. Where did you see that info? Here is the chart for all time and Hive never went anywhere near $1.
Hive chart all time .png

Screenshot_20201122090845851_com.coingecko.coingeckoapp.jpg

Around the 22nd of April, hive was hovering around $0.90 to $1. Do your research.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes I see it now, thanks for the info. I needed to look at a better chart. Hive did hit close to a dollar for a day and then sank rapidly.

I've been thinking about this a good bit myself recently. Watching BTC go bullish for a month straight, followed by a week of most all the alts going insane... has been very good for my wallet.

The downside is that since our forkening, I've been 100% power-up on HIVE (cashing out all the STEEM), and it is so strange that HIVE is just sitting there like a dead fish. Seems like Splinterlands alone should get it back up over $0.25, but who knows.

I'm about to start some big power-downs, just so I can have enough liquid to actually make a move if it does rise... or to cash out rather than reaching into my other bags.

In the long run, I see BTC dying off pretty hard, it can't compete with years and years of development - it's already the most expensive to exchange, the slowest, the most energy inefficient, one of the easiest to track, etc.

Realistically, it's all up to the banksters and their friends - Bitcoin is bullish because that's the message they've been putting out for months. When BTC was over 17k, they just ran a bunch of bad press and crashed it in a matter of weeks. They'll do so again, and again, until they've completely replaced it with their own coins, or until they own enough of it to win the game.

Good strategy and insights there Kenny. Even bitcoin is all about hype, and the big institutional investors are piling in for this bull run. Bitcoin may well becoming to the end of its overall uptrend long term.

Let's see if we can squeeze one more massive pump, lasting 12 months, up to over $100k, during which time the alts will catch up and possibly even surpass bitcoin in gains, as they did in 2017/8.

With so many alts needing bitcoin as a gateway onramp, it may always have a role to play as digital gold or a global digital currency, much like the dollar in relation to the other fiat currencies.

Bitcoin is strong this week, Hive is not, but nothing in cryptos remains static!

I hope the tide will turn for Hive. There is so much potential.

I was prepared to buy a tons, a shitloads of Hive at <$0.05
To bad this 0.05 did not happen
Week hands shaked away? Perhaps. Now we have a clear path. Up and Up
I love week hands, they bring bargain stuff to buy.
Gime your stuff and go to hell week hands.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hehehe lol well said Alpha, strong hands will prevail.

I think the HIVE price drop is to buy and save for newcomers. he he just good vibe!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @julescape! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP