LeoLinker Update - Remove Unwanted Links

in LeoFinance2 months ago

If you're already using LeoLinker to add LeoGlossary links to your InLeo posts, thank you very much and more power to you.

If you're not, you should be. Read about LeoLinker here.

Here are the latest updates.

Latest Updates to LeoLinker

  • Fixed duplicate links being added, as requested by @taskmaster4450.

    Hopefully I have fixed that issue for good now, lol.
  • Added inline link deletion, as requested by @arc7icwolf and @mightpossibly.

    Now you can just click the close button on links you don't want and they will be converted back to regular old text.
  • Added inline capitalization / uncapitalization button.

    Sometimes LeoLinker adds links and changes your capitalization because it's not that smart. NOW you can just click the button on the left side of the link to make it start with a capital or lower-case letter as you see fit.
  • Fixed links in HTML tables not being added properly.

    If you have an HTML table in your post, links should be added properly now.
  • Fixed "no spacing between paragraphs, making everything look smushed together" issue in the preview window.

    So the text is more WYSIWYG now.
  • Changed fonts to match in input box and preview box.

    Why were the fonts even different in the first place? Only God know.
  • Fixed huge space being inserted

    A rather large gap was being inserted between plain text content areas and HTML tables for no apparent reason.

About the Author:

Ken Dewitt is an ESL teacher who likes to tinker around with programming in his free time. He's been part of the Hive community since 2016.

Follow me, @kendewitt, on:

Web3: My Hive Powered Website, InLeo, PeakD, 3Speak, Ecency, D.Buzz, Hive.blog

Web2: Twitter, Reddit, Medium, Discord, Github

My Hive Projects

LeoLinker

Read Some of My Old Posts

Automate ESL Teaching Materials Creation with AI Agents
SaaS on the Hive Blockchain: Some Ideas and Opportunities to Leverage Micropayments

Referral Links

Get $200 in DigitalOcean Cloud Hosting Credit
Earn Crypto for Your Web Searches with Presearch

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Great! I'm eager to test these new updates/features and add even faster LeoGlossary links to my posts :)

Awesome work!

!PIZZA

Sweet. Let me know if you encounter any bugs or have any ideas to add.

Awesome, that's some serious improvements. This will save me even more time and effort. Looking forward to try out the updated tool later tonight

Yep, that's the idea. Let me know if you encounter any bugs!

Used it on a longer post last night. Works like a charm, and now it's so much quicker to remove the unwanted links.

A feature that would be cool but not strictly necessary is to add a counter that shows how many links were added.

I think you could also consider to add some text like the one I add to every post (screenshot below) to bring more visibility to the project

I agree! I add a similar text to my posts, but you @kendewitt should consider adding it automatically, in order to get more visibility and letting more people know about your site :)

Suggestion: Add a switch to turn on/off movie and music related links

Most of the manual cleanup I find myself doing after using the tool is removing movie titles that match words I've used in the article. I imagine it would be easy to identify such pages given they always include the keyword "film" or "movie" in the url. If implemented, I think the switch should be off by default.

Thanks again for developing this amazing tool. It's been a tremendous help for me so far.

I've been thinking about this one for a while. I actually started dividing the database into different categories, but then realized there are a bunch of words that fall into multiple categories, making it hard to ever turn off all of the terms you don't want.

Then there's the fact that while you may not be doing posts about movies (or another category), other people are or potentially will be, so deciding which categories to have off by default is also not easy.

At some point I will get some solution implemented though. Another option is to get AI to decide which links are inappropriate for your content and remove them, but that's another can of worms. AI is not good at making those kinds of decisions yet and will no doubt require constant tweaking.

You've obviously given this more thought than I have. I figured films is a good start because they all contain -film- in the url, and that movie titles often are the same as common words. In my experience they're 90% of the words I end up adjusting.

Anyways, looking forward to further updates! Totally agree with your view about the On/off by the default part

Thanks for your good work

No worries man.

Congratulations @kendewitt! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 53000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 54000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP