My latest non-Crypto portfolio snapshot, before a re balance next week, looking for advice

in LeoFinance4 years ago

I will be re balancing next Friday due to some of my SPY covered calls hitting, will need to sell 0-30% depending on the market next week.

Currently I am thinking I will just reduce equally across all positions but a case could be made to simplify my portfolio down.

First, what are your thoughts on my portfolio?

Second, if you had to reduce 30% from it where would you reduce?

Advertisement

I use brave browser it is pretty good, just like chrome except ads are optional and if you opt in you get paid for it. Here's a referral link that earns me a small amount

https://brave.com/hqo109

My favorite site for trading is Bitmex, as the future contracts allow for lots of arbitrage opportunities and the leverage lets me leave most of my stash safe in cold storage. If you don't already use it and would like to sign up, here is a referral link that will get you 10% off fees and rewards me with 10% of the fees you pay, we both win.

Similarly my favorite site for trading options is Deribit, Here is a referral link for that.

A few of the exchange sites I also use are binance, bittrex and hitbtc, I find them about as good as the other exchanges to be honest but these have referral links so I figure I'd shill for them.

Bitmex

Deribit

binance

coinbase

bittrex

bitfinex

OKex

More posts

If you like this post follow for more, this account will be dedicated to posting about trading cryptocurrencies and maybe a bit of general stock markets.

If that sounds good please consider up voting, following or reblogging. If you are feeling particularly wild you could do all 3.

Disclaimer

Please do not invest on the advice of a stranger on the internet, only use this advice here as a starting point for your own research, and then if you choose to invest please only invest an amount that you can afford to lose.

dont-know-25547_960_720.png
Made with this pic as a template

Posted Using LeoFinance

Sort:  

Interesting portfolio.
I personally find automotive and banking (esp. European banking) rather overvalued. So If I wanted to reduce by 30%, I would start with selling GM, Volkswagen, Deutsche Bank and Bank of Ireland.
Your portfolio seems to be "risk-on" with Tech, Automotive and Finance and little anti-cyclical stocks as agriculture, utilities, defense.

It is my thinking that banking has overestimated the amount it needs to deal with bad loans, and will do really well over next year or so. I am especially confident in BOI being undervalued, DB is on the chopping block though

VW is a long term trade as I think they are well positioned in the ev market. GM is more of just a value plan that has potential to be cut.

Personally I think tech are the new utilities and are quite defense, also at my age I am happy to be risk on

Posted Using LeoFinance

Yeah, DB is the riskiest one, I think.
Tech could really be a rather risk-off trade as its margins is and probably will stay rather high.
Personally, I don't own any stocks until a sharp correction of the overall market.

I think it is a mistake to be 0% invested, I am about 70% invested and will probably reduce that to about 50% due to covered calls hitting.

Even if I was very sure a correction was coming I would be 10% invested.

I would probably only need a 5% correction to get up to 90% invested.

Of course 100% invested is not a limit I am willing to go to 300% invested using leverage, of course not at the moment.

I think we are at the beginning of a massive multi-year economic depression starting with a hyperdeflation. In a depression there's the saying "Cash is king". So I basically hold only the 3 forms of cash (USD, Gold, BTC) + 1 risky investment (Hive).

I have never seen someone sharing his portfolio other than assetmanagers working with me (When I still worked). Is this a bottom up portfolio or top down or a bit of both? Are you looking for value or growth and what is your risk appetite. Even if I you answer that I still could not advise you as I do not have followed these stocks. I tend to stay local close to my area (Western Europe)
Good luck!

I in my 30's and think I am going to live forever so I have a large risk appetite.

Mostly top down but I look into the company a little, at this time I focus a lot on if the company has the balance sheet to survive. It's my opinion that all companies that survive this covid period have had a stress test that justifies a higher multiply.

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_lCW6CRPZ0Q

Congratulations @kevinbacon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 100 posts. Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP