You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Crypto Markets Live Blog: Ethereum Taking Over? (09/13/21)

in LeoFinance3 years ago

QUESTION

How do we deal with suspected plagiarism here on Leo Finance?

Even at my age, I still have a pretty good memory when it comes to research I have done. In reading an article here this morning on a topic of interest to me, the content sounded way too familiar. I ran it through a plagiarism checker I use (to verify my own writings when I use research so no mistakes are made) and this article came up 100% plagiarized. And I was right, two of the sources were research I reviewed in the past.

This article has garnered 50 + Leo in author rewards and has received praise in the comments.

I realize that mistakes can be made (I made one myself) but 100% plagiarized material should not be rewarded! That is my reason for not calling out this author here. But I need some direction on the proper way to handle this delicate situation.

Thanks in advance.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Drop the link in the Leofinance discord. There is one for abuse. They will block the account from the tribe which will delete out the Leo rewards.

It will still be on blockchain and will get the other rewards outside of Leo.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Also put the link of the leo post along with the plagiarized post so they have both in there.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I agree with this advice.

There's a report plagiarism channel in the LeoFinance Discord.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Flag him/her and call him/her out. I did so to Whatsup just recently and I consider her a longtime friend. I did not call her out for plagiarism, but self-voting.

The point I am trying to make is that what is good for the goose is good for the gander. It has bitten my ass for a longtime that their is an unwritten but traditional double-standard within our community.

Thank goodness that @whatsup was very gracious in her response to my comments and downvote of her post. That is called maturity and that is why I have a great deal of respect for her.

Those that have influence on this platform, while not perfect, should do as you have done in the past. I have witnessed it. Do your best to ensure that you set a high standard for yourself as a respected member of not only @leofinance but the greater HIVE community.

You may wish to approach the individual privately first, if possible, and admonish him/her if they are a personal friend. That is my advise after all the bombastic surliness above for which I am famous. 😁

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Maybe try contacting them on their post or possibly discord to clarify with them. Sometimes plagiarism checkers give funny results so just make sure you have enough proof before accusing anyone or calling them out.

If they accept their mistake and do not repeat then it's a-okay!

If they don't accept their mistake and continue doing it, you can contact hivewatchers to intervene.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I know the checker I use is not the best, but its free. I use it mostly to make sure that I make no unintended errors in articles where I rely on research.

But the nice thing about the checker I use is that it goes sentence by sentence and gives the source for the plagiarized content by clicking a button for each sentence.

I do not want to draw attention to this person if in fact it was a mistake. (But 100% mistake ???) This is one drawback on HIVE that currently we can not communicate with other users privately when needed (like now).

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah. In fact today I was thinking if Peakd or Leo Finance had this feature to chat privately. It could be very useful for quick communication and people will be spending more time on the platform rather than on discord.

Regarding the plagiarism, if it is a clear C&P then you must contact Hivewatchers and they should do the rest without you worrying about calling out or contacting the person.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks. I appreciate the help in this regard.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Cheers Kevin!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Doesn't PeakD has that feature?

I never used it and I don't even know if it actually works or if it's just there in the UI for a future release.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Where? I didn't notice man. There was one time when I saw a public chat thread embdedded on proof of brain's website. I think they removed it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This is what I'm talking about, but I don't know how or if it works hehe

image.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have sent you a request. Did you get it?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm not sure because I never came across that situation myself. The only recent case of plagiarism I remember was that guy who was translating articles and posting them here (forgot his name).

I think someone straight-up called him out on a post, but I'm not quite sure what is the recommended approach there.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Isn't that one reason for downvoting a post? Plagiarism can't be rewarded.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta