You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hivefest talks have me super bullish - We are building! (Hivefest Day 1 recap)

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

Hi @jarvie / @peakd,
What did you have in mind for the mobile App?

In theory, you could re-use the website and from the same source code generate a hybrid App using Cordova or Ionic. That wouldn't be too hard.

The problem though is that Peakd may be considered a gambling App by Apple and Google.

  • Google does not allow gambling apps on the Play store.

  • Apple allows them but they're rejecting hybrid apps because they claim they want to review the code of the app and prevent injection of code that they did not review (trivial with a <script> tag that loads JS from a server).

You probably want to build a cross-platform App in order to reduce cost and time to market (single code base, single team).
For these reasons above, you would have 2 options:

  1. Just make the peakd website compliant with the PWA (Progressive Web Application) requirements (service workers, caching, offline support, etc). In this way users will be able install it on their devices directly from the mobile site like they would download an App from the store. (you cannot publish a PWA on the stores)

and/or

  1. Develop the App with a different tech stack. React Native will probably face the same approval issues with Apple since only the UI gets transpiled to native code. If you want to stick with a cross-platform approach to build the App from scratch then I would recommend Flutter. It allows you from the same Dart codebase to get a fully native app both for iOS and Android (Dart gets transpiled into native code for both platforms).
Sort:  

Cc @asgarth

Thanks for the insights... I'm passing this along to the developer

Thoughts @roelandp ?                 👆

Wish we could get some new developers up in here for you guys

Then why are you downvoting my posts?

shit, I followed some downvote trails thinking it was helping Hive. Can you tell my why you think you are being downvoted so I can decide whether to stop following them or not?

Not too much detail....just the gist of it. I will probably stop following, I don't want to get into feuds I know nothing about or risk downvoting decent users, which is why I wish @themarkymark would keep a database with links to what behavior led him to blacklist certain people.

@themarkymark from our interactions, you seem like a decent guy, but "why are you downvoting me?" is hard to answer sometimes...

I downvoted two of his posts where he posted a blank template (see below) which was rewarded for over $10 each.

He then threw a fit in mattersmost, and went on for almost a week about the downvotes in a public channel. He refused to accept the fact the posts offered zero value and were just blank templates reposted with more rewards than 90% of the users on Hive. He then taunted me to downvote his recent post a week later, so I did.

lol shit, i don't know what to do. I don't really disagree with your reasoning, but I can see how people get frustrated when they feel their being picked on, or when one persons judgement can crush a post, even a post like that (and like I said, i do understand your reasoning). The real problem is the people upvoting empty templates for $10...

In any case, thanks for the reply. I really hope you get a regularly updated list together....i want to support your project but I think you need a bigger team working on it, people who are forgiving and thorough. It would be nice if we could choose for ourselves to opt out of downvoting certain people on your list who we disagree with your judgement on, not sure how complicated that would be but I'd definitely promote a proposal to develop something like that. An open appeal process and way to vouch for users would be really nice as well. Anyways, just some ideas.

This dude seemed to leave some thorough ideas and suggestions in my comments section directed at Jarvie and Peakd development, in his defense.

And @keys-defender, I do see why people wouldn't want a post that was mostly copy and paste getting $10 reward. I know it feels like it's all in-group out-group sometimes, I know there is bullshit and politics and power games, but I think you'd probably find fewer enemies if you put more substance in your posts rather than just statistics and posted a little less. I doubt Marky would downvote it then, I'm sure you'd find more people to support it too. No hard feelings, undownvoted, not going to unfollow his trail yet cause he said it was just a few times. If it keeps happening I'll see what happens and keep re-assesing if I want to unfollow it but to be honest, I also don't want copy/paste templates receiving $10 upvotes.

You seem like you have something to add to this ecosystem, and I'm sure there is a way you could get the respect you deserve. Most people are pretty reasonable, sometimes you have to suck it up and deal with a little bullshit but if you stay reasonable yourself, you'll come out doing better than you were before.

I assume you are just following my downvotes on a hive.vote. That’s something you can turn off of you want to. I no longer run a blacklist or deal with abuse. I just vote as I see fit and mostly only deal with rewards disagreement now.

Ah, I see. Didn't realize that. Keep fighting the good fight 😝

"two of his posts where he posted a blank template"

Let me think.. who was that used to copy and paste his reports and get them heavily upvoted every 3 days? 🤔
Oh right, it was marky himself.. 👉


It's how the project gets supported. I never asked anyone to upvote.

Getting out a proposal and asking for my normal rates would be too expensive so I prefer working for free than for cheap. I'm also supposed to be already partially funded by GP's proposal but I turned down the funds since he needs them.
In almost a year I did 10 bucks a month (plus some donations to the chary project). So I'm coding for free and the upvotes on the weekly reports don't even cover my expenses. Good way to thank me and appreciate my work...

I periodically add new features (that I haven't blogged about yet), fix bugs and plenty of maintenance work.
The reports usually get voted by 100+ users and the big votes come from high rank witnesses. Marky is the only bully downvoting. His reason: "I like the service, I disagree with the rewards".
So he thinks devs should code for free and pay for their own expenses. Way to send devs away from Hive.

We should defo make witness votes expire.

Loading...

what?
when did i do that?