You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LeoThread 0.7

in LeoFinance2 years ago

I have an interesting idea to solve the “dust voting” problem on #leothreads

What if we replaced upvotes with a non-VP custom JSON “Like” button.

Like as much as you want, no VP drain. Every 24 hours, liked threads get a % share rewards

Sort:  

really love this idea on paper! hehe
but then how do you avoid/offset the imminent abuse? Part of the reason votes have a cost is so people weigh their votes wisely. If we have a like without rewards that might be better (cont. in reply)

2/2 I'm all for gamification but abusers often ruin this for everyone. Having choice WITH cost makes people think twice. What if you came up with a non-monetary reward? Like just... leaderboard? simple recognition/appreciation? @khaleelkazi

I would like this idea, but I need to go check my VP first

I think there should be both. Vote as is because if we find the content super valuable we can still give a big vote... But the Heart option gives people a way to show love without doing a dust vote that gets wasted.

How do you get the rewards without VP to determine what is tied to an upvote associated with a thread?

Yeah, I don't understand it. Does it mean a whale and minnow vote have the same value. I'm confused.

I like that idea but why not both? Maybe the monetary vote button can be called "leo tip" or "hive tip" and the non-VP JSON like button can be called "heart".

I second this. I think there should be both because it gives people a choice to give a chunk of their vote value or just a like

What does this do to incentivizing people to buy LEO though? I mean I bought around 2000 LEO to delegate to my alt account since "Threads" came out. How are LP holders rewarded in a community pool system?

Is dust an issue for LEO rewards? I thought it was just HIVE rewards that had dust issues.

This is a great idea, we could all just upvote the container post and contribute to the rewards.

If every day is a new container this would be a great rewards flow. Every json vote is also a 100% real vote on the container if they've not yet. Users can then json/ceramic vote whatever they want and have rewards split at payout.

Awesome! How would it work? If I "like" a thread at 100%, do I still have the same influence as if I was voting normally? Or is every like worth the same from every user?

Would the shared rewards come out of an "end of day" delayed vote?

I also think that we shouldn't have both options, replacing the vote for a like, as long as it's explained simply and people know what's going on is great if and only if the users retained their % of influence in reward allocation.

That's what I've been thinking about for years by now. That's how the like button should work anyway. Straight VP Votes should be the "outlaw" case.

I need to be able to allocate a % of my vote to threads and then just flip the like on whatever I like. A problem might be the Reputation consequences eventually.

This is a really great idea.

Love the idea, I believe both a "Like" And "Vote" button should be enabled. loving the use of #threads so far but I find my lack of VP to be an issue because I genuinely want to reward the people I am engaging with.

Can you do a thread explaining how to check if your upvotes are getting caught up as dust?

And also whether it affects LEO the same way as HIVE?

I really like this idea. This is how Diamondapp on DeSo works. They have separate buttons for likes and diamonds (upvote button in our case)

image.png

Diamondapp on Deso looks like this:

image.png