Diverse Content On LeoFinance - Introducing Krunk's "Fiat Museum" Series

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

cover.jpg

The Krunk is a happy camper ATM!

Yesterday, 31st of October, I successfully recovered my other account, @barge, in a James Bond style operation involving Pythons and Wings of Death. I succeeded in this incredible sounding undertaking - which you will have to read to get - and I am currently in a phase of consolidation: shuffling the two accounts and their stake around and deciding what content to post where. In short, Krunkypuram will be my main account for posting LeoFinance content and Barge will be my main account for letting my hair down and posting short stories, photography, esoteric subjectivity etc.

Moving on to the point of this post

Khal recently made The Case for Diversified Content on LeoFinance, in which he states:

The issue though, is that diversified content means that we need to have posts about LeoFinance/Hive AND other topics surrounding crypto and finance.

This got me thinking about a series of posts that I have been intending to author for some time. In this series I propose to document - with photographs, information and accounts of personal experience - the fairly extensive coin and note collection from around the world that I have been gathering since the early 1990s.

My father used to collect coins and the silver rupees you see in the cover image are his legacy. After arriving in Europe in early 1990 I spent a lot of time travelling around the continent and parts of the Middle East - backpacking and hitching around and taking my time doing it. This was before the Euro came into force and each country had their own national currency. In every country I entered I would gather all the low denomination currency notes that I could afford and at least one each of all the coins currently in circulation. Over time, and with later travel to other parts of the world, my collection grew. I'd also occasionally buy vintage coins or notes at flea markets or be given them by friends and family.

examples.jpg

Of late I've come to think of my collection as a Fiat Museum. After all, a lot of this collection represents fiat currency that is no longer in circulation. Additionally, with the advent of cryptocurrency (both the decentralized, real-deal stuff that we engage with on this blockchain, as well as centralized fool's gold CBDCs), old style in-your-hand fiat currency seems to be on the way out. This process has been further accelerated by the coronadrama p(l)andemic and the move towards a centralised 'cashless society'.

Old-fashioned fiat currency seems set to become a museum piece!

cash.jpg

How Will The 'Fiat Museum' Be Presented?

I haven't worked that bit out yet but the series will combine my interest in photography with my desire to document the contents of the Krunk Fiat Museum on the blockchain in an orderly and interlinking manner. The collection is likely to provide me with puh-lenty of content if I'm able to nail the answer to this question. Content will include:

  • Old Coins: from ~18C and before, many of which I have not yet identified fully and some of which may be fakes :|
  • Historical (not so old) Coins: of the 19C and 20C from, perhaps, 50+ different countries
  • Current Coins: which are still in circulation, or were so until recently
  • Banknotes: mainly no longer in circulation; some from turbulent and historically interesting times - for example the 100 Krona bill from 1940 Czechoslovakia pictured above, which I bought at a street market in Prague in 1991; banknotes from 30+ different countries

I welcome thoughts and feedback on this idea.


I'm still bouncing from having got my other account back and I am in a celebratory mood. A month or so ago I wrote a LeoPoem but this was when I was just starting to post regularly to LF and it wasn't really seen. Given where the community currently is, it seems appropriate to revive it here:

The Lion is roaring in the valley below
Even though
Sound travels so slow
Fore-running echoes grow
In tensity & volume, sayin' "Hello"
Taking DeFi's stage, no more incognito
Buzzing the Hive - that good token's still low
As numerous trickles turn finally towards full flow
The roaring, of course, comes from brave friend Leo
Exciting the already hyperpumped world of crypto
Who chant on their feet and lift up on tiptoe
Arms outstretched, fists going "yo yo yo"
"Time's ripe", they say, "We all know
aGoodThingWhenWeSeeIt
Go Go Go Leo Go!"


Thanks for reading 🙏
Barge (@krunkypuram)

<<< All images & artwork barge/krunkypuram >>>
Stock art/images for the LeoFinance community to use in posts if they wish:
2 outreach posters targeting Metamask / ETH users
A selection of 21 LeoFinance-themed page-dividers

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Numista is incorporating a Banknote collection in tandem with it's Coin collection database but without blockchain technology.
I do enjoy looking at old foreign banknotes as they have a history, they portray that country's cultural icons often with Architecture, national treasure, or famous leader and often also collectable so long as they are in high grade. I have a friend that just joined Hive and I am trying get him to post his Banknote collection. He's kind of old school and confused about Hive.

Thanks for sharing.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks for the link to Numista - looks like it'll be a great resource for me when trying to figure out what some of the coins/notes I have are.

Yes, I like looking at old banknotes and the manner in which they can bring certain periods of history or events/places/people of national significance into focus......living history in a way.

My notes aren't particularly high grade as such and a lot of the coins are the same - some so worn the surface is smooth and I doubt I'll be able to identify them.

Hope your friend finds himself able to naviage the Hive.....there may be some useful guidance for him here: https://peakd.com/c/hive-198524/created

👍

PS, just checked your blog, it's full of coins lol

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Do you use Coins which made Silver and Copper as regional currency just now?
In Myanmar, we don't use that currency coins.
We have kept that coins as memorial and historical things.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

In UK there are still coins in circulation used as currency just now, yes. But the government and banks are trying to get people to use cards. Many businesses now do not accept cash (coins or notes) any more.

I don't have any coins of Myanmar at all :D

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Now, are you stay in UK?
I seem you live in India.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Now yes, in UK but I spent my entire childhood in India. Last time I was back (2016), they were still using coins and banknotes :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I love this idea! The Krunk Fiat Museum, and not a car in sight!
I have some old Ukrainian notes that were in circulation when I was in Odesa. Next time you're over I'll get them out and you can take some photos if you like. They were called coupons, or karbovantsy, and they came out of circulation not long after I left. I have all the denominations that were in circulation then, up to a 1,000,000 note. Yes, for a time, I was indeed a millionaire!

A quick look at Wikipedia reveals that I was there during the third karbovanets period, from 1992–1996, so I must've been there at the tail end of the currency's lifespan and I experienced the hyperinflation as it was happening. I didn't actually realise that!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

LOL, cheers Cams...been wanting to visit for a while, maybe winter's the season, lessee what gives...be into checking out the karbovantsy for sure - any duplictes amongst them?

Not quite sure what my starting point is for the museum, wanna throw me a suggestion for what country to kick off with - you've a good idea of where I've been. If not, something just came into my head as I was typing this out to you ha ha (that was quick @:).

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

No dupes, no, just one of each I'm afraid. I have some Kazakh tenge somewhere too. And some AA sobriety chips!

If you can't think of a country, I'm gonna say Belarus. Go!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Haha, an easy one coz AFAIK it was just notes they had when I was there.

I had thought of Cuba just as I was typing my last reply.

Wait and see :D

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think it is a history lesson to hear about all these different paper currencies and coins. It's too bad most of them are no longer around. I look forward to seeing more of your stash and hearing how and where you got them!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Agree! There is so much history embedded in bygone currencies and coins. With the older ones - like the 1688 Irish one in the image, I like to imagine how many different hands it will have gone through, both when legal tender and thereafter - as part of a collection or just mixed in with a box of old family legacy junk :).

Really pleased there is some interest in this project - many thanks for yours...and for the reblog. It's a sizeable collection and I think I'll present it country-by-country (19C & 20C), and do some posts on the older coins separately.

Any countries you'd like to see done first? I may not have the ones you name, but if I do I may as well start anywhere :D.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta