The Case Against NFTShowroom (For Now): I Made An NFT So Why Am I Not Rich? Part 2.

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

NFTShowroom
Let me start by saying that NFT Showroom is a really cool idea. It opens up Hive's ability to showcase their own microcosm of the NFT craze, which is currently skyrocketing.

BUT, (I've been told that everything before the word "but" is usually bullshit, which may or may not be the case here.)

I don't know if it's the place I want to post my art.

"Well who the fuck are you anyway?", you might be asking.

I'm a nobody. It's not like the NFT world would be beating down my door for anything. I posted a (mostly) low effort drawing onto Opensea to see what the results would be.

Newsflash: I'm still not a hundred-aire.

Here's the problem:

Screen Shot 20210901 at 1.13.17 AM.png

You have to be "whitelisted".

Crypto is the fucking Wild West. Guns are slinging and little Sammy Shitcoin is getting left stuck with a bag every-single-day. I'm pouring one out for my dead homies who bought Bitconnect as we speak.

I understand why a website like this would want some integrity baked in to their platform. The art world has in the past been considered high brow. At it's spirit though, crypto is very egalitarian. Something about gatekeeping the website, even while it is in "alpha", doesn't seem to be conducive with that culture.

How long is "alpha" by the way? Are we talking Steem-level "beta" testing (:sadface:)? You know, the one that still seems to be going on this very day?

Screen Shot 20210901 at 1.16.06 AM.png

Also, maybe I don't want to share my social media, DM people, provide a portfolio, send in a sample of my DNA, pull my right incisor to prove I'm real (word up to @elliotjgardner), and sacrifice my cat to prove myself worthy of posting. Like you can see if I've been an active member on Hive, my reputation, every transaction I've broadcasted on my profile. Shouldn't those be the central metrics in the decision making process? I mean this is very Hive specific.

I know for this Blockchain to thrive we need to branch out and create quality products. As of right now though it's hard to argue that anything in the crypto ecosystem can even share the stage with the level of success that NFTs have had on Ethereum. Quite frankly, I don't see the stars aligning and me hitting a jackpot on NFT Showroom. I probably wouldn't make a sale there either, but the odds of making that astronomical level wealth from an NFT sale on Hive are almost nil.

Screen Shot 20210901 at 1.42.23 AM.png

The current price of the average sale on NFT Showroom is approximately 43 Hive. That's rounded up by the way. It's a really cool way to earn some revenue, but not exactly something to write home about.

Do I have hope that things will change for NFT Showroom? Absolutely.

I think there would be so much more success if we made it accessible and inexpensive to sell NFTs on our blockchain. Isn't that what Hive is all about?

There will be plagiarism/theft of intellectual property. That's almost certain.

Shouldn't the responsibility be placed on the buyer to ensure the legitimacy of the product they're buying? Free markets, and all that jazz.

I remember being in middle school and my mother bought me a pair of counterfeit jeans for school. I was initially proud of those Tommy Hillfingers. (Yes, I said fingers. They were that poorly counterfeited.) Some people aren't going to care if their NFT is "fake". That's really on them. I'm not one to tell others how to spend their hard(ly) earned magic internet money.

I think NFT Showroom will eventually come around and do the right thing. For now though, it's a pass for me dog.

Am I being crazy about this?

Let me know in the comments below.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

As I recall, it costs 5 HIVE to list a piece plus 1 HIVE for each edition. I suspect that most artists who joined the program lost money on NFT showroom.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Considering gas on ETH that's still a low barrier to entry. I suspect most lose on ETH as well. It's just crazy for me to think that someone could want a whitelist when the traffic really isn't high at the website when looking at the general market.

Come join the pizza community. We are a bunch of musicians artist, dev, gamers and pizza lovers overall. We intend to make hive accessible for anybody. At thieving the coherency of still separate community's but joint through !PIZZA. Together we are stronger, see ya at pizza

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

@kryptik! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @cooperclub.

Did you know you can earn $PIZZA daily by delegating HivePower to Hive.Pizza? (8/20)

Proof of incisor remains the gold standard for user verification. Any chump can give up a picture of a document, but a tooth? That's the real deal.

Congratulations @kryptik! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Quick feedback
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Introducing the Hive Power Up Month - Let's grow every day!