Not your typical gamer in this digital age

in LeoFinance26 days ago

I am not the kind of person who loves playing games, and my kind are rare, especially in this digital age where there are lots of games that would interest you. I have seen people who get addicted to different types of games and just ask how because I don't understand why.

Myself

Someone once said that I am like that, probably because I am an extrovert who prefers outdoor activities to sitting indoors playing with their phones or PC. I somehow agree with the person's assumption, but there was a time when I played games in school, and they were purely educational games.

At home, there were evening games we played, and it was very common for female children back then. The games had to do with racing and skipping; they weren't physical like many men's games.

Then, I didn't like men's games. It was too rough, and that's why I barely participated in school interhouse sports because there were females with male bones. You can't blame me because I was skinny and didn't have the strength. It's not like I have added weight, but I am stronger than before.

The only time I felt so interested in games was when a coursemate told me that he earned some money from playing games. I was really excited and willing to break that anti-game jinx, but it wasn't as easy as I thought. I didn't even begin the game at all after everything he explained, and that further made me not interested in trying games.

I tried Candy Crush, Subway Surf, and a spelling game, but I always got tired of them, so I delete and download them again when I need them.

If you go through my phone right now, you will barely find any games, and that's one of the reasons why my siblings don't go near my phone. Instead of playing games, I will rather watch a movie or listen to music.

While surfing TikTok some time ago, I stumbled on a Nigerian female footballer and fell in love with her. Her personality is awesome, and she turned out to be a huge inspiration to me immediately.

Unsplash

I have watched female football because of her a few times, and it was interesting. I have grown to develop a love for the game, and today, I enjoy watching female football as a way of showing support for what seems to be an empowerment for the female gender.

Football has given a lot of female voices, and it makes me happy that we are being given the opportunity to entertain the world as well. It is an unrealistic dream for me to be a footballer because I can't run half the size of a stadium, but being a cheerleader wouldn't be bad.

Aside from football, which Asisat Oshoala made me love, I don't understand any other game, and there are some that just look funny to me. For instance, why would someone say boxing is a game where the players punch themselves until one falls? It doesn't make any sense to me.

If you haven't joined the April Inleo task, now is the time. Learn more about Aprilinleo

Posted Using InLeo Alpha